We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much better than the artist palette!”

Twenty Mule Team Canyon
Book In Advance
More Info
$218.99*
and up
Small-Group Death Valley National Park Day Trip from Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tortuous 2.8 mile road riddled with tunnels - a legacy from years of Borax prospecting.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“much better than the artist palette!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had a 4x4, so road was v easy. I'm sure my little car back home would have managed it without too much difficulty. Lovely drive, crazy to think they used this a mining road. Views better than than artist Palette which i was disappointed with.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Drewglasgow74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    95
    31
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Montana
Level Contributor
203 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Have Fun Driving the Canyon”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Interesting side trip while in Death Valley. A neat one-way road through the valley. Be ready for some curves and dips.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Montana
Level Contributor
203 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Borax History”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Take the '20 Mule Team Loop' and then visit the Borax Mine site. Read about the history of borax mining which is very interesting. For such a short period of mining time, the ads have lasted for years.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, CA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Should have made time to hike”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The drive was fun with my Toyota Highlander. You are forbidden to drive off the road but can park and hike. There were a number of possible hikes but we were time contained and had to get back to LA. Do make the drive and allow time to explore the canyons.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Epags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Even my wife could drive this”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

A trail a couple of miles long very smooth with a couple of good descents in the road, my wife enjoyed driving it so much she went round for a second go

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhilCottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twenty Mule Team Canyon also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley Junction, California Desert
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Twenty Mule Team Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing