We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare and unusual American Jewel”

Amargosa Opera House
Book In Advance
More Info
$236.49*
and up
Death Valley Day Trip
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In 1967, ballet star Marta Becket began renovating this opera house and performs there to this day.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A rare and unusual American Jewel”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I had seen the documentary "Amargosa" a little over a year ago and was so delighted to finally go see the Opera House and stay at the motel. This is a rare and unusual experience. Marta's paintings in the Opera House are too wonderful and unique for words. The motel is comfortable (very modest and quiet) and I so enjoyed talking with the staff (Rich, Mary Lee and Patty) about some of the history of the place. The location of this special place is "out in the middle of nowhere" and truly feels like a desert mirage. The surrounding area is dusty and plain...perfect for anyone who just wants to "stop" and "be" and also to marvel and to catch an intuitive glimpse of an America long past. The small graveyard nearby also feels as though it has secrets to whisper, as does the Opera House and the motel...for anyone willing to stop, take a breath, slow waay down and just listen. I loved it here and hope to return.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank thea w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    32
    11
    3
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awful dump”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The room was barely heated. The heater is very noisy. There was no hot water in the shower. The bed is hard and uncomfortable. There were no extra blankets. We were charged 20% over stated rate. Stay away!!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank inessa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“See the opera”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This odd place is was built and painted by Marta Becket. She is unable to perform anymore but you may still get to meet her. She did all the 3-d illusion paintings in the opera house and in the connected hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, MI
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Who'd a thought!”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

On our drive to Death Valley from Las Vegas, we were starting to get hungry and decided to stop for lunch. We happened to time this event just right as we were at Death Valley Junction where the historic Amargosa Hotel & Opera House is situated. The sign announcing a tour of the place for $5 called to us and the lovely little picnic area looked just the place to have a lunch. Patty, our affable guide, gave us a grand tour of the premises. What an amazing place. Who'd a thought we'd find a little gem like this one in the middle of nowhere? Marta Becket, who still performs on Sundays, did one great job decorating the opera house. Her whimsical audience is enchanting. The hotel rooms, also decorated by Marta, proved to be just as entertaining as the opera house. Patty informed us that the hotel has paranormal activity though when we were touring we did not experience anything out of the ordinary.

The tour was well worth the $$ and the staff were more than helpful and accommodating. We did not stay at the hotel, but I suspect it would be an interesting evening if we had.

After the tour, we noticed that the Amargosa Cafe was open, so we opted to eat there. The cafe staff were just as much fun and quite capable in the kitchen. Don't expect a grand gourmet meal, but do be prepared for a substantial and well-prepared meal. The fare is sandwiches, breakfasts, and a few dinner entrees. The day we ate there, the special was an Italian sub with French fries. My husband and I shared it; the sandwich was huge and stuffed with meats and cheeses. The fries were excellent.

All in all, this fabulous spot in the middle of nowhere is a treasure.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank winniec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Georges Basin, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An experience for the adventurous traveller”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We were made to feel quite welcomed although we arrived quite late without a booking by Reg. If you want something to eat, get there before 8pm. We had some food with us so this was not a problem. There was plenty of coffee. We were shown the various themed rooms, so we could make our choice. All in all a very restful night. And was a little dissappointed their were no apparitions. Marta's wall paintings are a sight to see. Experience this piece of history before modern day catches up. We Loved it.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lieselt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amargosa Opera House also viewed

Death Valley Junction, California Desert
Death Valley Junction, California Desert
 
Death Valley Junction, California Desert
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Amargosa Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing