We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Go to the Cafe!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch

Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Go to the Cafe!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

In the first place, it is no longer a steakhouse - that is very misleading. We had dinner there, so I cannot speak to breakfast and lunch. At dinner there is a buffet with a salad bar (very limited), prime rib (ok), and a hot table with chicken and some veggies (not very good). Dessert was the best part of the meal - but that did not make it worth the $30/person price. Go to the Cafe - for less money you can have much better food, atmosphere, and service!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    135
    92
    42
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice but compared to what?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very nice food and the service was very good, however it's either here or a pizza next door (all part of the same kitchen anyway) to me it was an over priced and I mean over priced steak house. For what it cost I would have eaten in the bar next door. Sorry, really nice food but far too expensive

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank paulib32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerington, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a steakhouse!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The lack of a line should have been my first clue that something had changed. The once awesome steakhouse in the middle of Death Valley has been turned into a less than mediocre buffet. We were so disappointed that this gem now serves uninspired side dishes to accompany my 3/8 inch slice of prime rib. The seasoned staff was apologetic and was as attentive as a self-service buffet requires. I will say the dessert is not to be missed. It was prepared by our server and was reminiscent of quality the steakhouse once represented. We have been visiting the resort for 15 years and will continue to but are hoping this is a temporary experiment.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GotGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay Away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My Father and I were staying at the Ranch @ Furnace Creek visiting Death Valley for a few days. On the evening of the last day we decided to visit here for a nice steak dinner. As the host brought us to the table, he informed us that they had just switched from a steakhouse to a buffet. We walked past the buffet to see what they had to offer before sitting down. Steamship round, a couple potato selections, a vegetable, chicken, fish and a salad bar were offered. The food looked fine and we decided to dine there. The servers were attentive and the food was fine; certainly not anything extraordinary. When the bill came, we were shocked to see that the total was over $70 (including 2 beers)! Having spent 15+ years managing restaurants/bars; I can say that this was without doubt the WORST value I have ever seen. I feel for the service staff that deliver the checks to diners at this place because they will undoubtedly get the brunt of the dissatisfied patrons leaving this place. Do not go there unless you like eating while bent over the table. I can only hope that management will correct this egregious error in judgement turning this place into a buffet before it is to late. Stay away!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Joshua D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really bad value!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Visited just before Christmas, expecting a nice steak dinner. They had converted from a steak house to a buffet the day before we arrived. The staff is attentive, the buffet selection is extremely limited, food quality is mediocre, and the prices are crazy high - two small salads, two plates of food, two beers and a modest tip - just under $100.00! Worse than Golden Corral at 3x the price. Xanterra at their absolute worst, and that's saying something. Stay away.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bd16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 

Been to Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing