We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“the Perfectly prepared steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch

Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
sonoma county
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“the Perfectly prepared steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

i just returned from a meal i did not expect to find in death valley: perfection. i was very specific with the excellent server, Paul, about what i desired in my meal. he delivered my request the chef, Archie, perfectly, who then came thru with PRECISELY what i requested. I grew up eating meal after meal at chez panisse, and have enjoyed many a september dining in michelin star spots in france (i am more than abit uncomfortable relating this info, but i want you to understand my level of experience/appreciation surrrounding food) and Archie came through with a terrific execution of my meal. i am sincerely grateful for their attention to my requests, and plan to return again and again (meaning tomorrow AND the next night.) everything else at the restaurant is fine: all the folks working there are authentic and helpful, and the environment is very comfortable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arlee k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    126
    85
    37
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Eat dinner - no thank you to breakfast buffet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The first morning we did the breakfast buffet-it was not good. Oatmeal runny, eggs rubbery and cold, potatoes burnt. Second evening we decided to give it a shot for dinner and were pleasantly surprised. Steaks well cooked and tasty. Salads crisp & fresh! Wait staff attentive & helpful. This restaurant opens later at 6pm. So there is usually a line-but seating is prompt & wait staff efficient.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A Waste of our Time and Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you stay in Death Valley there are not many choices of places to eat. Because the main places to get food are far apart if you stay in a hotel or resort you're going to eat your meals in the same place. Furnace Creek Ranch offers three place to eat, 4 if you count the grill at the golf course.

We wanted a light dinner and hadn't yet tried the Steakhouse. We ordered the Oasis salads and two appetisers, grilled shrimp and steak satay. The salad is a nice selection of fresh greens, tomatoes, cucumbers and onions. This part was great however the dressing was nasty. It tasted like it came out of huge industrial jar. We had salad at Stovepipe Wells and they managed to have a dressing that tasted freshly made, so I dont know why these guys couldn't do it. The satay was super salty. The meat was pretty good but overwhelmed but the salty sauce. My grilled shrimp was greasy and the pico de gallo that came with it had an off taste of moldy food.

Now maybe these people do a wonderful steak, but after the food I had at this meal I won't take the chance and the high price to find out.

The staff was very friendly but the food is a real down note. It's a shame. Maybe they need to bring in one of those restaurant intervention shows to make it better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pearl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Breakfast and dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The buffet breakfast was simple, yet good. It was not over priced. Steaks were cooked to order and very juicy and yummy. The sides were very complimentary. The service was outstanding during dinner.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hikerbepw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Nevada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Buffet??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The restaurant serves a buffet for lunch. Don't bother. It is not very good. The bus tours take their passengers there. There many foreign visitors on those tours. I hope they don't think all food offerings in the US are this bad

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank starfish9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing