We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best steak of entire holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch

Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Berkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best steak of entire holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great restaurant, very attentive friendly staff. They bought a plate with 3 different steaks on to show you which one was which, something that our boys found very useful.
After our holiday the boys voted Death Valley steak the best! The chocolate pudding was also delicious.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank poppy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    135
    92
    42
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Excellent service coupled with tasty but expensive food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed at the ranch for the one night and chose to eat at the steakhouse. Decor is pretty basic and possibly as we were eating early the restaurant was very quiet so no atmosphere. Service was very good and we were looked after by a polite and efficient guy. I ordered pasta and sea scallops, partner had chicken. Both were well cooked and good sized portions. Only real negative comment is once again cold plates...... Does no one warm plates in the USA anymore? I'm guessing some guest got slight burnt once 10yrs ago and sued! Slightly over priced but given the location this is pretty understandable.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELBAG40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Good food but quite expensive so be prepared. They also add the gratuity fee on automatically which I dont like because I want to be able to add what I feel the service deserves - it does tell you this on the menu so it wasnt a surprise and didnt put us off.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracy166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Loved this restaurant. The food was well presented and there was a good choice considering the restaurant is in death valley.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally186349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE FOOD...AVOID”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed at the Furnace Creek for one night during my 2 week trip around the U.S.A.
Dined at the Wrangler Steakhouse...God Damn Awful Food....AVOID...overpriced and terrible...steak was tough as a pair of boots and not much food to go with the little bit of steak i had...went to shop afterwards to buy some goodys as we were still hungry when we left the steakhouse..Not worth the money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ann125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Please accept our apologies for delivering a dining experience that did not meet your expectation. We can assure you that operating in a remote location such as Death Valley causes us to incur much higher operating expenses. Regardless of the cost and pricing relationship, we routinely deliver exceptional quality to our patrons in the Steak House. I hope you conveyed your displeasure to one of our restaurant managers. They always strive to make every effort to correct any issues that are brought to their attention. Overall satisfaction in that operation is quite high, and if you would reconsider and return to the Steak House, we are confident that you would leave with a more favorable opinion. Should you decide to return, we hope that you will notify the manager of your previous experience. And, by doing so we will assure that you receive an excellent product and value. Thank you for sharing your experience.

Gary Costello
Director of Operations
Furnace Creek Inn & Ranch Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch also viewed

Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
 
Death Valley Junction, Death Valley National Park
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Wrangler Steakhouse at the Furnace Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing