We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Home Cooking”
Review of A Taste of Philly - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
A Taste of Philly
Restaurant details
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Home Cooking”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great food and Service!!! Great people, friendly atmosphere!!! Good location. Affordable home style cooking. Every dish I've tried has been very good. Love this place....

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L_de_Or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Luv It!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Fast, friendly service and some of the best sandwiches in the area. Prices are very affordable, too. I haven't tried the whole menu, but everything I have tried has been delicious. A nice change from the big chain restaurants.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Thayu can match their cheese steak with Philadelphia”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Small shop, like many Philly steak places, in a rather run down strip mall. Stayed across the street and decided to try it. I have been back a number of times. They know how to make a cheese steak that is excellent and not greasy. Serive is a littel slow mainly because they have many delivery orders.

You will find it hard to beat in this area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcoman34145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Philly Steak Subs outside of Philly - and great pizza too.”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

small, family ran. Good food. During season it is hard to get in. But it is worth the wait.

The Philly Steak Subs are the best I have ever had outside of Philly.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best tasting Philly cheese steak down here”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Had the car in for service half a block up, and wandered into the shopping center looking for something. Hmm. Taste of Philly. OK, probably another Yuck, like Charlies off Tuttle Ave.

Didn't want to gorge myself so I selected the 6 incher. I like hot peppers, but not with the taste of beef, so I asked to drop them off and instead add some of the marinara sauce from one of other dishes. OK - and no extra sauce. So, were off in the right direction.

Several minutes later, along comes the sandwich. Not on Amoroso's or Morabito's -- can't have everything, but it appears to have more than plenty mean, and it's all cooked through and tender.

I'm a slow eater, so I had plenty of time to savor what I will rate to be the top of the class (taste, quantity for the price) that I have found in my 7 years here.

Very nice young lady was running the front of the house, handling the late lunch crowd and the takeouts. For this category of place, I'll give it an excellent.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank genied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Taste of Philly also viewed

Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing