We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Bradenton
Post
Inbox
Search

“Authentic Italian - like no place else in the area”
Review of Ortygia

Ortygia
Reserve a Table
2
Fri, 12/13
8:00 PM
Ranked #5 of 671 Restaurants in Bradenton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: At Ortygia Restaurant in our artsy 1920's vintage bungalow we offer a unique, culinary experience. Located just minutes from downtown Bradenton. We offer French/Sicilian cuisine in a small, intimate, indoor or outdoor setting. Where many venues offer an array of glitz and glitter, the attraction of Ortygia is its eclectic charm, unparalleled backdrop, the beauty of nature and an abiding sense of La Bella Vita! Add the ambiance of candles, torches, lights, music and laughter, Ortygia glows with its own brand of beauty that lures people back over and over again. Our distinctive and exceptional cuisine is just another reason so many individuals choose Ortygia to host their special events.
Reviewed August 11, 2015

The food is authentic. There are your standard Italian dishes, but most of the menu is unique and it changes regularly. Has many of the things you usually cannot find in this area. The owner is very friendly and it is clear that he wants to accommodate and impress. Atmosphere is also adorable. Don't miss this place. You'll be sorry you did.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beachbabe12686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 233 of 507 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2015 via mobile

I had gotten a groupon for this place and had really no idea what to expect. I had never heard of this place and was surprised to find out that they have been around for 9 years. I made a reservation and I was glad I did because it was packed! The place was super busy and they were short staffed but that did not make us feel any less important. The food took a little while due to the high volume of people but the chef kept checking on us and kept us updated on our food. Our server was wonderful and fun but so was all the staff. My mom and I really felt like we were having dinner at a friends house. The dish washer even came out and spoke with us. He was an amazing man to chat with and we really enjoyed his company. Our bruschetta eggplant appetizer was incredible and so was the bread they gave us before our meal. Both of our meals were delicious and filling even though the portions were not huge. It worked out well because it left room for dessert which was equally impressive. This was a great hidden gem hidden in village of the arts.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Alicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2015 via mobile

I'm a foodie and this place definitely became a great find.
The outside is a colorful inviting home that invites you right in the door where you soon realize you are somewhere special. The staff then takes you to your table that could be in any part of this charming home. The menu is unique with a list of rustic italian food from an amazing chef.
The specials were very different and cooked to perfection (The stuffed eggplant). The chef comes out and checks on the guests in the dining rooms to make sure your enjoying the food he prepared with pure passion. The music is just an added bonus to your dining experience.
You can also dine outside on the patio that is also colorful and inviting .
I will definitely be back...

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Margarette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2015

Unique regional dishes which are not the standard Italian restaurant fare. Deliciously prepared dishes. Great service. Outstanding wine list. The only set back is the pricing which is high for this area. For special events or for those who can splurge, this is well worth the visit.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Averagejoe001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2015

Lovely! We had our 1st visit to this charming cottage restaurant. The owner was so friendly and inviting to us. This is a big part of our dining experience along with good food. The menu was Tuscan infused with a Sicilian flare. Different then what we sampled in Tuscany but very tasty. As we were leaving Guy left the kitchen just to give us a big Italian hug! Where do you eat and get that? I am glad we were able to experience this wonderful place and we will return! Thank you Guy, you made a friend in us!!

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FLgracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortygia also viewed

Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Ortygia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing