We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for those interested in history.”

De Soto National Memorial
Dunkirk, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for those interested in history.”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Small museum and a decent nature walk are the highlights of the De Soto Memorial. They also have some living history presentations. Nice bike ride from Anna Maria Island to the memorial.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wallace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    180
    36
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“History abounds”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

along with a peaceful setting along the Manatee River. Take the walking trail as it is a nice walk and peaceful most of the time. There is a sister park across in St Petes Beach at the southern tip

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank vanvan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Take a walk on the water where DeSoto once roamed”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Desoto may not have been the best person to visit this area but you visiting the park will be most enjoyable. I've been visiting here since I was a kid. In fact, as a teen I was one of many high school kids who got to help out at the recreation showing the landing of Desoto and his men. This past winter I was luck to attend an Audubon Society led bird watching walk and it was wonderful. Peaceful and calm and full of migrating birds of every sort. I'll be going back many times next winter when we are back in town and you should go too. It's an easy place to take a walk and you won't be sorry you did.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Manatee1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
“Very educational for adults and kids”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The children's scavenger hunt was super fun and educational at the same time. Ranger led kayak tours can't be beat. All of the history in this little area is amazing. And it's all free!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank drewscottinfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
577 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Went here to get our Senior passes for National Parks and while we were here toured the site. Nice pictures of how this part of Florida changed over the years in the museum. Great piece for history buffs. Worth a stop, Only takes an hour or so..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dinerdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Soto National Memorial also viewed

 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to De Soto National Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing