We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Ribs.”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #350 of 509 Restaurants in Bradenton
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go for the Ribs.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We all had ribs and all were meaty, well seasoned and tender. Choice of sauces at the table and a variety of sides. Slaw is a bit on the sweet side...Dad's sweet potato was very good.HUGE drinks...no refills needed. Not over the top rave but good food fairly priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    10
    7
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Ribs to Perfection”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The ribs at Sonny's are to die for. I was able to order them with light BBQ sauce but you can add sauce from the table to your liking. Enjoyed the experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, large portions, great price !!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Sonny's is a chain, but we have not run into any we have not enjoyed- through out Florida. Always a Friendly Staff. Not a diet restaurant, but they have portion sizes and prices for everyone and huge beverages. The salad bar is great- many choices and not much $ to add on to a meal. I recommend the Pulled Pork or Beef Brisket, Baked Beans-zesty and delicious, Corn bread.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PamP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not for Me!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via Local Picks

I was not happy with the food, and will not be eating here again. Bradenton has too many restaurants to settle.

Helpful?
Thank TheBedels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A strong BBQ contender but not as good as they could be”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Good food, low prices, All-you-can-eat options and a wide variety. The dry rub is available on ribs and one other entree if you are avoiding sugar, but they often run out of these foods. The salad bar and breads are very good, and dessert is included.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing