We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away!”
Review of Golden Corral

Golden Corral
Ranked #173 of 513 Restaurants in Bradenton
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stay Away!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We went on a Saturday night and waited 15 minutes to be seated. Once we sat down we went to pick out our food. The only high point was the manager. He was working the grill and was very pleasant. It went downhill from there. The selection was poor, the salad bar was decimated and there was a frozen block of greens in what was left. The cherry tomatoes were sitting in a gooey liquid and the tomatoes were covered in it. I passed. We tried the steak- decent. The broccoli was good. After eating enough that didn't scare us, we went to the dessert area. Not bad, then we hit the chocolate fountain and the cookies. The cookies were stale and while I watched, the employee took away the platter of unappealing strawberries, I thought "Yeah, fresh ones coming!" Nope, she simply brought another platter of strawberries that were on a dirty tray and were put in the refrigerator to re-chill. Ah, let's go to the bathroom...... or maybe not. The men's bathroom was dirty, trash cans overflowing and there was vomit in the sink. Oh joy. The ladies room was at least cleaner, but the trash cans were overflowing. Wish I could get my money back. I had a cleaner experience in Africa.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    26
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“killer prime rib”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Don't let the price fool you ! Enjoy this special while you can, prime rib was lean cooked just right,shrimp tatsed funny like old or well used oil in fryer, but prime rib excellent value

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just good plain old American food and lots of it!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

At the Corral, you get to try it all from soup to nuts, including steak, turkey, pizza, a sprinkling of Chinese style, and good home style cooking. Great assortment of salad fixings, breads, soups and deserts. Just wish they could soften that atmosphere a little bit. It's not as 'cafeteria' like as it was before the renovation, but the lighting is blaring and it's still too 'school lunch room.'

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnieMmm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stopped by for dinner and was surprised and pleased with the quality and tenderness of a steak I had while dining there. This is a very busy location, so be prepared to navigate through the crowds to the serving stations from your table.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank checkmateMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent food, mess hall atmosphere”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Buffet style. The food at dinner was good and there was lots of it. What I especially liked was the fact that there were many different kinds of foods and cuisines. Even a low-fat dieter or vegetarian could find plenty of good choices. For example, one friend chose scalloped potatoes and cream-covered vegetables while another friend opted for plain steamed vegetables and a baked potato. I liked the mashed potatoes. My friends devoured the tender steak, and the pot roast was one of the best I ever had. Another friend said that his Chinese food was on the greasy side. The Mexican dishes looked tasty, but we didn't sample them. We all liked the desserts. There were many of them: pies, cakes (the carrot cake was great), sauces, ice cream, and even fresh fruit. The salad bar was ok. From the minute we paid at the cashier on entry, the staff was friendly and helpful. The price could not be beat. Unlimited food for very little money. The ambiance left a lot to be desired. This is not the place to go on a quiet date or on a fun night out with friends. Good for families. Lots of noisy, rambunctious kids when we were there for dinner. It would be ok if you have a big family to feed or if you just want to eat a lot of food at a very reasonable price. It's not fine dining or anything approaching it. Expect a military mess hall atmosphere. Even university dining is more pleasant. You want to eat a lot cheaply? Come here. You want more than that? Go elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanuman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing