We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for all ages”

South Florida Museum and Bishop Planetarium
Ranked #2 of 77 things to do in Bradenton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: As the largest natural and cultural history museum on Florida's Gulf Coast, the South Florida Museum offers engaging exhibits as well as educational programs that interpret the scientific and cultural knowledge of Florida, the world and our universe. In addition to permanent exhibits, the Museum features a constantly changing lineup of temporary exhibitions -- offering something new to discover with each visit. The Museum includes the all-digital Bishop Planetarium Theater and the Parker Manatee Aquarium. Celebrating its 50th anniversary year, the Bishop Planetarium is the Gulf Coast's premier astronomy education facility, outfitted with a state-of-the-art Planetarium and projection system with stunning multimedia capabilities. The Parker Manatee Aquarium is home to Snooty™, Manatee County's official mascot and the oldest known manatee in the world, as certified by Guinness World Records. Snooty shares his Aquarium pool with other manatees that have been injured or orphaned and are being rehabilitated for return to the wild as part of the Manatee Rehabilitation and Release Partnership.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The South Florida Museum is great for all ages and interests. A giant mastodon greets you when you enter. Exhibits show humans have lived in Florida for 12,000 years! You can see real canoes and stone/shell tools. Snooty and his manatee pals Cheeno and Longo are a delight to watch, and the aquarium has a small but interesting touch tank with sea stars and urchins! The Bishop Planetarium was fantastic!! Try to plan to see a live star talk, its worth it and you can see other shows too about the planets and stars- ultimate universe and extreme planets are the best. So much to do, make sure you have 3-4 hours at the very least! They also show fun films on fridays and host monthly science talks for free! A true Florida treasure right there in bradenton!

Thank sunblossom26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseumFriends, Public Relations Manager at South Florida Museum and Bishop Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thanks for your great review - it sounds like you really had the opportunity to enjoy everything. We agree that you can spend several hours exploring all of the exciting things we have to offer. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 589 of 707 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Museum had lot of nice things to see. the people were very friendly and helpful. It was easy to find your way around. The Aquarium was very nice as well I loved to see them feed the Manatees ice berg lettus. Also like to see them up close they are magnificent animals.

Thank poirierfr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Its a very small museum and the aquarium is pretty much just Snooty the manatee but its still neat. The staff is super nice! The kids really liked Snooty. You will only need a couple of hours to go through it but if you have time its worth a stop!

1  Thank cresia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseumFriends, Public Relations Manager at South Florida Museum and Bishop Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thanks for your review! We're grad that you enjoyed Snooty and the other things that we have to offer. We're expanding our exhibits and changing things all the time - so come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The museum is filled with interesting collections, and the one and only Snooty the manatee. There is so much to see that it would be worth it to get a pass and go back. It is very expensive to visit, and we only went because the grandparents paid for the tickets. It was over $100 for our family for our two hour visit and I thought that was too much. The only people who can enjoy this gem are those with extra income, and that leaves out lots of people with kids.

3  Thank CaptainMike55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseumFriends, Public Relations Manager at South Florida Museum and Bishop Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

So glad to hear you enjoyed the museum - it's a great place for families! While we understand that some families may have a hard time with museum prices, we do offer a couple of options to make it more affordable. On the first Saturday of most months, we stay open late until 8pm with special programs and activities for families. Admission is half priced after 4 pm, with all of the Museum, Planetarium and Aquarium areas still open. We also offer very reasonable family membership packages which include unlimited admission for a whole year starting at only $75 for up to 4 people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice museum with a real manatee and a planetarium. You can learn some things about dinosaurs or indians. I enjoyed it!

1  Thank beauty4free2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Florida Museum and Bishop Planetarium also viewed

Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to South Florida Museum and Bishop Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing