We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place, the food is amazing”
Review of Jose's Real Cuban Food - CLOSED

Jose's Real Cuban Food
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“What a place, the food is amazing”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have been several times and love it. Dinner or lunch the food is amazing. Its a great place to meet up with friends.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beryl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    108
    45
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I can get a better Cuban sandwich at publix”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I heard about this place from diner, drive ins, and dives and figured if Guy is endorsing it then it must be good, boy was I wrong. They claim to have the best Cuban. It was so flavorless and dry. I couldn't even finish the sandwich and ended up throwing half of it away. I can get a better Cuban from publix. Don't waste your time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank STALLIONAIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jose's is the place”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The title says it all, "Real Cuban Food!" this isn't a 7-11 Cuban, this is a the real deal! Everyone's interpretation on how a Cuban should be made is different. And let's be fair, it's all in how you are raised in not only how you make it, but how you enjoy it! I'm a Florida Boy, born and raised. We grew up eating Cuban sandwiches, as a staple in our diet. I've eaten every Cuban sandwich in Polk, Manatee, Hillsborough, etc, etc... This is the one! Trust me, want to know good food ask a big guy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FloydHPruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great pork and plantains!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I recently tried this place with three friends on vacation and really enjoyed it. We split plates of shredded pork, beef, and beef stuffed with chorizo. My wife ordered a cuban sandwich. She said it was the best she's had. I thought the pork and plantains were exceptional. The other dishes were good too. We finished the night with vanilla flan and it was great! I would definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schwartz225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Diner recommended by Guy Fieri is a Winner!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I like to look for Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives when we are on vacation and I saw where Guy F. had visited Jose's recently. We decided to give it a try, since we like spicy food. We were not disappointed. We ate lunch there and had the special-1/2 Cuban reuben or 1/2 pulled pork sandwich with a big bowl of black beans and rice. Each plate was $7.95 with a 10% discount for being "old"! We ordered beer and it was served with an ice-cold mug. My husband had the bread pudding also. He said it was okay, but probably wouldn't order it again. The place is definitely not fancy, but the food is great! We plan to go back and order an entree plate. Our waitress assured us that all there entrees will serve the two of us. At $13.95, that is really reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose's Real Cuban Food also viewed

Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing