We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small winery, sweet wine”

Rosa Fiorelli Winery & Vineyard
Ranked #33 of 77 things to do in Bradenton
Attraction details
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Small winery, sweet wine”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

If you're looking for a winery tour like ones you'll find in California, you won't find that in Florida. Keep your expectations in check. This is a small Florida winery. Friendly people. Sweet wine.

Helpful?
3 Thank HouseMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Girls Weekend at the Winery”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We had a fantastic time at the winery! We were so suprised to see an actual vinyard here in Florida growing muscadine grapes and some hybrid. The wines were delicious. The guide was very knowledgeable so we learned a great deal about the wine making process starting with the vines. We met the owner Rosa! Such a wonderful time!! The wine tasting was free and we tasted 9 different wines! They gave us a good amount of wine. The winery and vinyard tour was $10 and it was well worth it!!! Taking the tour is a MUST! You learn so much. We even picked a grape from the vine and sampled it!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Nice little place, but very small compared to other wineries.”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Having been to lots of wineries, I have to say this one is a lot smaller and more intimate than others I have visited. This mom & pop operation is truly mom & pop. The "Pop's" name is Antonio and it's his vineyard. He showed us all around his 10 acre farm and during this walking tour told us about how he started the vineyard. We had three small kids with us who were bored out of their minds until they saw the tractor and a sleeping cat. They were allowed to climb on the tractor and visit with the cat, who then followed us all around the farm. I have to say the cat was the highlight of our visit. We then saw the distillery where the wine is actually made, and had a tasting. The area where the tasting takes place is very small and there was no effort made to make room for us at the table. The wine is ok, and we did purchase two of the sweeter wines. If you love wineries and wine tours, you may want to skip this one. The $10 fee to go on the wine tour and have a tasting is reasonable, although usually one is allowed to keep the glass (not so on this tour).

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Petwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to take Out of Town Guests”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

This is such a sweet, family owned business and the wine there is delicious! Made on site!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Wonderful & interesting winery, but Florida wine is just not good”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I cannot say enough about how friendly the family is at Rosa Fiorelli. We pre-booked a tasting, tour and lunch. There seemed to be a little confusion about our reservation when we arrived, but they took it in stride and treated us like royalty! The owner's wife led the tasting, and gave us a good explanation of each grape, the type of wine, and what it would go well with. Unfortunately, Florida simply doesn't have a good climate for growing grapes. Muscadines do well in Florida, and the winery also had some experimental varieties developed by the University of Florida and Florida A&M University. Unfortunately, I just didn't care for the wines. The muscadine sweet desert wine was fairly good, which is what muscadines do best. The dry muscadine wines and the experimental varietals were just too harsh. Four of us tasted together, and a couple people dumped their glasses after just on sip. They had cheese spread, crackers, pretzels and mustard out for cleansing your palate between tastes.

Antonio, the winemaker, took my friend & I on a short tour of the wine-making area and the vineyards. It was very interesting. This is a small operation with just one press, hand-corked one bottle at a time. It was great to have the owner there to explain the system and equipment. Antonio graciously answered every question we asked. He walked us through the vineyards and explained some of the scientific experiments they're taking part in.

Our tour ended in a covered outdoor picnic pavillion, where we had lunch consisting of sandwiches and salad. They provide water or soda with lunch, but of course they'd prefer that you buy a bottle of their wine to drink! Unfortunately, there just wan't one that I liked, so we stuck with water.

I wish the owners as much success as possible. Florida is just a tough venue for growing grapes.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Kleetampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosa Fiorelli Winery & Vineyard also viewed

Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rosa Fiorelli Winery & Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing