We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was pleasantly suprised.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Dayton
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Was pleasantly suprised.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I stopped for a nights rest on our way to Toledo. Although the pool was full of noisy kids, our nights sleep was restful and quiet. The propriety is a little tried, it was clean and comfortable. A great value. Terrance at the front desk was professional and articulate. The suite had everything we needed, was a great place to spend the night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dclsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy L, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments about our hotel, it is awesome to hear that we are doing our job at keeping our hotel nice and clean for our guest. I have also passed your comments along to my Guest Services Associate Terrence, he is definitely a strong part of our foundation here, and we very much appreciate you pointing out your experience with him. We look forward to seeing you very very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    184
    123
    121
    97
See reviews for
273
138
72
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
From Here to There
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Really and truly and nasty experience. This is a former Residence Inn that was purchased by Hawthorn (Wyndham). The only redeeming factor about the hotel is the front desk staff were friendly…not necessarily competent, but they were friendly. I felt unsafe from the moment I entered the parking lot…lots of rusted out cars and even someone sleeping in their car. There were at least 30 kids in the pool, which normally would only be an inconvenience of timing…needing to wait till the group thinned out…but in this case, the kids weren't guests of the hotel. Area parents had brought them there to use the pool…and they stayed in the pool for over 6 hours! The room itself was just disgusting…pleasantly furnished upon first glance, but filthy and in general disrepair after looking around…holes in the walls, fireplace door broken, broken bedroom door handle, multiple stains on walls, dried mucous or semen clump on our sheet, sticky film on floors and counters, chunks of food on the walls, smelled of cigarettes, cracked door frame, broken lamp shade, I could go on and on. Anyway, we couldn't sleep there and ended up leaving late that evening and checking into another hotel less than a mile away. I thought about complaining to the manager and asking for a refund, but instead felt it better for the public and whatever corporate entity owns this property to find out about the vile conditions at this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DirtyBedspread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy L, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I recently received a copy of your review for our hotel. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel needs to be updated. Its run down. You can only stand on the balcony, thats just how small it is. It need repairs. The furniture is outdated, the carpet & tile needs replacing bad. Its time for new beds. It was very uncomfortable & loud. Also we found bed bugs. This is a ranned down hotel, i will NEVER stay in this dump again. The breakfast was nasty the potatoes was half done. We had a very bad experience.. The hotel wants you to give them 5stars & you could win a night free. Hell i only give them 1/2 star.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Altomeise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy L, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback to us about your stay at our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced. Since the staff and I strive to provide friendly service, clean rooms and a comfortable stay for all of our guests, I am saddened to read that we were unable to do this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

I fell in love with the place when I walked. my last 4 nights had been terrible and this was a great change of pace. The small kitchen, a fireplace and big bathroom area and great bed, everything was laid out perfectly.

Room Tip: this is a great value, don't hesitate to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalterStewart1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy L, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review of our property. Whenever I read comments like your's it always gives me great pleasure. My staff and I strive to make every guest's stay completely enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. Please know we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dayton hotels
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dayton North
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Dayton North
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North
Address: 7070 Poe Ave, Dayton, OH 45414-2545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corporate hotel conveniently located at I-75 and Benchwood Lane offering free high speed internet, complimentary daily hot breakfast, Wednesday evening social hour. We are surrounded by restaurants, shopping and entertainment choices. All suites have a full kitchen and living room area with pull out sofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Dayton North Hotel Dayton
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Dayton North Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing