We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great room and breakfast”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This was a great place to stay. We got the wheelchair assessible room and it was wonderful. It had a kitchen with full size fridge lots of cabinets. Kitchen sink, dining table and bathroom sink were all assessible by wheelchair. Room was clean and nice. Breakfast was good had hot crossaint sandwiches, biscuit and gravy they changed it up a bit every day so you had different choices. Very Very reasonable prices on rooms. restaurants were mostly on other side of freeway but still very close.

Room Tip: Wheelchair assessible rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinaberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Cinaberry,
Thank you for you wonderful review. I am glad the accessible room was all you expected and possibly more. In addition, I see you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast buffet, we do try to change it some daily so our guest will have a variety. Next time you are in Dayton we hope to see you again, and please introduce yourself.
Sincerely,
Aletha Dillinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    208
    144
    131
    108
See reviews for
309
159
86
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I just wanted to express my gratitude to the outstading hospitality. Especially Aletha's care and consideration, I will never forget her warm greeting and friendliness. She is A+++++++ in customer service since her outstanding leadership with Perkins in Xenia and Springfield. Aletha, please contact me at obamanemesis@gmail.com.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear RF,
Thank you for you wonderful compliments. I am so glad you had a great stay! Hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Aletha Dillinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
209 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Arrived at 9pm on a thursday night, parking lot full. Our night was quiet. We were staying here so we would be close to the Air Force Museum on Friday morning. We were in bed within an hour. We turned the furnace on and it smelled like it was the first time it was used for the season. When I sat on the queen bed, it felt like it had only 3 legs. The matress was so bad that it tilted, giving the feeling that the bed would flip over. Both of us woke up with back pain, with one of us having the pain last the weekend. My father slept on the pull out couch, needless to say he did not get a good nights sleep either. The only plus was the free breakfast, not that it was anything special, but better than wasting time at a restaraunt. I think I will pay a little more for a room than having to fight sleep and deal with back pain.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mawdooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Mawdooms,
Thank you for your review. I am happy to say we have replaced mattresses since your visit and this will be a continual process. I do hope you will come back and give us a second chance. The sofa sleepers are in the process of being replaced also.
Thank you,
Aletha Dillinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Dated facility. We got the queen and pull out sofa for 4. The queen mattress sagged in the middle. The pull out sheets were clean, but stained. Very good breakfast. Room was clean.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Robert D,
Thank you for your review. I am happy to say we had new mattress delivered yesterday. I hope next time you are in Dayton you will book with us again.
Aletha Dillinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
231 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had a much better experience this year than we had last year. Since we had some problems last year we were given a really good price for our stay this year. We upgraded to the 2 bedroom and were pleased. There was not a tv in the upstairs bedroom but that was not a problem since we were all pretty tired. The room was much cleaner this year and we did not have any problems. The breakfast was a great way to start the day. They had egg patties, hash browns, really good ham and pancakes in addition to danishes, yogurt, waffle makers, boiled eggs, fruit, etc.

As we were checking out I asked if I could purchase a stamp. I was given a stamp and they would not let me pay. Needles to say their customer service is great. Everyone was helpful and professional.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Lenajean,
Thank you for your review. I am glad you gave us a second chance to prove your previous experience is not our standard. We hope to see you again soon,
Aletha Dillinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop Harbor, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have used Priceline to bid on many 3* hotels and have been more than satisfied with the facilities. This hotel is absolutely not a 3 star hotel, it is 2 star at the very most-that's being kind. The property is tired, the parking is far removed from some of the buildings, and the room smelled musty and old. We checked in late and even though we were booked in a no smoking room, the room smelled like smoke. The property was fully booked so no chance of changing rooms. I travel and stay in hotels quite often for business and I try to stay in 3 stars for the quality and cleanliness factor. I hate pet smells, cigarette smoke smell, and other mystery smells, none of which belong in a 3 or 4 star hotel. This place fails on all accounts.

The reviewers that rated the hotel 5*, have me scratching my head. Are they rating the same property that I stayed in? All the furnishings in the room were old and dated. Carpets looked fairly new and pretty clean, but the smells! Not good. Glad I only had to stay in this property for 7 hours-couldn't wait to leave. We won't be staying to eat breakfast no matter how positive some of the other reviewers were.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallyho078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Tallyho078,
I apologize you did not have a positive experience at our hotel. I would like to hear from you as to the room you stayed in. I know staying in a room that has been smoked in can be unpleasant. We unfortunately cannot control whether a guest smokes in a room but to strive to clean the room thoroughly so there is not a remaining smoke smell. If you can contact me, I will address the issue.
Thank you for taking the time to review our property we welcome all reviews.
Aletha Dillinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I usually try ago find a good price for a motel but my wife is a stickler for clean room. This motel met both of our criteria. A great price, convenient location, breakfast was fine and clean and tidy. My wife was very pleased with my selection this time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear William L,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that your wife was pleased and hope to see you the next time you are in the area.
I hope you were able to enjoy our hot breakfast buffet while at the hotel.
Thank you,
Aletha Dillinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dayton hotels
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dayton
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
15.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Dayton / Miller Ln.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North
Address: 7070 Poe Ave, Dayton, OH 45414-2545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corporate hotel conveniently located at I-75 and Benchwood Lane offering free high speed internet, complimentary daily hot breakfast, Wednesday evening social hour. We are surrounded by restaurants, shopping and entertainment choices. All suites have a full kitchen and living room area with pull out sofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Dayton North Hotel Dayton
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Dayton North Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing