We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and needs to be updated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Everett, Washington
1 review
“Dated and needs to be updated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

This hotel has seen better days and seems more like a slightly run down apartment complex. The main bathroom yellow wall paper was peeling and several base tile were missing, the bed was saggy, towels and sheets worn and not sure they were entirely clean, one of the windows was entirely opaque(bad seal), the ceiling had popcorn texture with dust balls, etc. Overall not what I expected for a review rating of 4 stars; although the price was good I'd rather have spent a little more for a Hampton. On the positive the staff was friendly/competent, the free breakfast was average, it seemed like a safe location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankPNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear FrankPNW,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We took all your issues to heart and have had tiles replaced, as well as speaking with the housekeeping staff on addressing the dust ball issue. In addition, in the past month, new bed and bath linen has been delivered and we have replaced all that is worn looking.
Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Aletha Dillinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    192
    135
    125
    101
See reviews for
293
149
78
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Room 224 and possibly others was terrible. Upon entering the room, I was met with 50 degree temperature. The thermostat was set at 50 with the air conditioning going full blast. Initially, I thought the houskeepers just wanted to cool down in 90+ degree heat and forgot to turn it down. I was wrong! As the room warmed up, the odor of mold became very strong. There appears to have been water damage to this room because under the carpet, the floor was badly damaged and created an uneven surface to walk on. In the morning when I had the aid of daylight, I could also see water stains running down the walls.

If this wasn't enough, the living room couch and chair were so old, worn and stained that they belong in the trash.

Surprisingly in this era of customer service and customer satisfaction, I made all of these details known in a nice way but never received so much as a phone call from the location manager. That speaks volumes to me!

Check your room BEFORE giving your credit card and confirming your stay!!!

Room Tip: Stay at another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John48302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your recent stay at the Hawthorn Suites Dayton North. Obviously we failed to provide you with the level of service that you should expect from a Hawthorn Suites. I would also like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and giving me the opportunity to respond to them.

As we have not had complaints about this room in the past we asked the health department to come and check the room and clear it for rental and they have. What may have looked like water stains is actually wall paper glue residue.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us.
Aletha Dillinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

The 2 bedroom/2bath gave my husband and I and the four boys traveling with us plenty space, and I'm grateful for that. The cost was excellent . The room felt dated and not fresh, stale. One of the toilet seats was dirty and my husband found a condom wrapper behind the head of the bed in the loft. There were areas in the floor where it felt like there may have been holes that the carpet covered up. Also tiles on the upstairs bathroom floor were loose. Breakfast was excellent, as was the pool. The website noted a basketball court, and my boys were excited about that, but there was none when we got there. Great location, close to highway and many restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbi0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Dear Rabbi 0403,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Hawthorn Suites Dayton North. We have taken your issues to use as a training tool. Also, we will have the basketball court removed from the website as it has been damaged and was removed due to safety concerns. We hope to see you on your next trip to Dayton.
Thank you,
Aletha Dillinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

I will return to this hotel, soon. Around July 6, 2011. I have a good time each day I spend at your Hawthorn Suits Dayton, North Ohio.

Ed

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eamason1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear Tryin2,
Thank you for your kind review and taking the time to post. Our staff at Hawthorn Suites Dayton North always tries to accommodate all early check ins. I am glad we had a room available for you. We hope to be your hotel when coming to Dayton!
Sincerely,

Aletha Dillinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
québec
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Hotel about 10min from airport. Newest section of all hotels and restaurants. Close to the 3 major highways. Friendly staff, lacked on nothing. Complete kitchen, 4 of evertything. Microwave, stove, full size fridge, toaster, coffee maker, iron and board. They furnished coffee, tea and popcorn !! Pool was appreciated. Saw police cars drive around every night, help feeling of security. Check in was easy and my room was even ready at 1pm when I arrived, thank you !!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to review Hawthorn Suites Dayton! I am glad you were able to enjoy the suite and all the amenities offered. On your next trip come while it is warm outside and you can enjoy the gas grill provided for our guests and take a dip in the pool.
Please be sure to stop by the front desk and say hello on your next trip.
Aletha Dillinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

The outside appearance might need some updating but the quality of rooms, staff, breakfast, and pool is outstanding. We stayed here for three days while visiting family in Ohio and this was a great hotel. Sits right off the highway in a safe locations. Our room was clean and nicely updated. The bed was very comfortable and we even used the little kitchen area one night to make spaghetti. It has a two burner stove, microwave, large refrig and dishwasher plus all your kitchen ware equipment. The staff was always very friendly and greeted you warmly each time you entered and tried to assist you. This has to be one of the nicest free hot breakfast. Each day there was scrambled eggs, hashbrowns, along with french toast, pancakes, biscust and gravy. It was all very good. We enjoyed the use of the pool although the pool towes are very small and then so you need about 2-3 per person to really dry off but the area is kept clean. I would recommend this hotel and will probably use it again next year. This was our second year to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txchick211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlethaDillinger, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel. So glad you were able to enjoy the pool and the Hot Breakfast Buffet. We look forward to having you as a guest again.
Aletha Dillinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

As the Regional Director of Group Sales was confirming our reservation for 18 Families, she was selling out the hotel to another group. Our first family tried to reserve a room and were told the hotel was sold out. Contacted group reservations immediately, and were told our block of rooms had expired, even though she had just sent an email to confirm our reservation for the next 24 hours. She sent the original confirmation to the wrong email address and she supposedly transposed our telephone number to get a hold of us?? Offered remedy was to send the word "sorry" on our original email confirmation. Filed a complaint with the national office, but as of yet, have not heard back from them. At least our favorite hotel, the Drury, took us in at the promised rate at the last minute. You would think a chain as large as Wyndham, could have at least found our group, alternative reservations at one of their many hotels in the Dayton area. Although the hotel looked nice, we never had the chance to enjoy it. An honest mistake can be forgiven, but outright lies have no business in a chain such as this.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jtvandjfv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dayton hotels
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dayton
15.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton
14.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dayton South/Miamisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North
Address: 7070 Poe Avenue, Dayton, OH 45414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corporate hotel conveniently located at I-75 and Benchwood Lane offering free high speed internet, complimentary daily hot breakfast, Wednesday evening social hour. We are surrounded by restaurants, shopping and entertainment choices. All suites have a full kitchen and living room area with pull out sofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites Dayton North Hotel Dayton
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Dayton North Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing