We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Copley, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Business Stay”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here on 3 separate occasions over parts of 2 weeks.
First and foremost I was really impressed with the marketing strategy of Sandy in the sales department. She visited my construction jobsite several times and it resulted in multiple bookings. She did a fantastic job.
The hotel, although quite dated, had many of the comforts of home including in room refrigerators, microwaves, a nice TV, a comfortable bed and a desk to do work. The wireless network was fantastic. The breakfast was fantastic (scrambled eggs, sausage patties, waffles, sausage gravy, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, pastries, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juices, etc.) and it starts at 4 am! There were vending & ice machines next to the lobby area as well. Two nights during the week they offer dinner. One of the nights I was there the hotel had lasagna, salad & breadsticks from Olive Garden.
The hotel also offers an in ground outside pool as well as a fitness center, neither of which I used during my stay.
I mentioned the hotel is dated; the rooms were fairly cramped the decor was pretty old. I was told that it will be thoroughly renovated beginning this October.
There are many, many nearby restaurants in this highly developed area. Upon your arrival you receive some discounts to some of the local eateries.
The price was outstanding for the value. You also receive full Marriott Rewards points.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to others, be it for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieWills, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Shaun,

Thanks so much for taking the time from your busy schedule to write a review. Our sales manager Sandy spoke of you often and was thrilled as we all were that you were able to stay a few days. We are indeed in the process of renovation preparation and are looking forward to the outcome. I have updated a few photos of public areas and rooms of course so that our guest will see what is coming soon. we hope to see you on your next visit to Dayton.

Sincerely,

Debbie Wills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    93
    69
    35
    18
See reviews for
73
61
27
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here for two nights for the Air Force marathon. For a decent price, I was given a room on the third floor, with an enclosed entryway, away from the noise of the highway and pool.

If you stay on the first two floors of the hotel, your door will open to the outside, a feature you'd expect at a Motel 6 or Super 8. The staff is courteous and the breakfast area is well stocked and has impressive hours of operation between 4 and 10 am.

As a Marriott loyalist, I was surprised at the condition of this property. I am accustomed to Marriott hotels being in relevant condition. I hope the renovations will try to eliminate the divisive entries between the third and lower floors, and work to give more space in the "executive" rooms. I look forward to frequenting this property post-renovation, but until then I'll stay at another Fairfield Inn or Marriott property.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakeaf2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldInnDayton, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Jacob,
Thank you so much for staying with us last year for the Air Force Marathon, and we hope you are coming back to stay with us next week! While we were updated in terms of decor, furniture, carpet, and paint, we did not expand on the size of the property. We are an original Fairfield Inn, and will remain to stay that way. Hoping to see you for this years' marathon!

Sincerely,
Nikki Jackson
Guest Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
1,182 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was a good stop for us since we had a flight out of Dayton Airport. The room was clean and comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised to see that they served breakfast (which was very good) starting at 4am - this is a big plus for people with early flights. I was also pleased to see that they have their own shuttle to the airport. Nice to know for future flights - saves you a lot of time and money. Good price too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank librarian73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Where to begin. Early check in was rejected quite quickly. Upon request of a holding room for luggage, again, I was told no. Once in the room, I was disappointed to see a dated, dreary room. We paid for two nights and did not bother to stay the second night. I could hardly wait to leave. Even the shape of the hotel was a bit obscure. The hotel was in the shape of a square, and all the rooms face the outside. You must leave your room to get to the lobby, ice machine, breakfast...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHawk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed in August 2013. Good room with mini-frige and micro-wave. Free internet and free breakfast buffet. Our room was on 3rd floor.

Stayed mid-week, but in researching rates, weekend rates are lower.

Some recent reviews mention renovations and noise. Call hotel for more info before making reservations.

Fairfield is Marriott chain's middle tier property so don't expect a lot. Better than Marriott Courtyard and is above low end motels (e.g. Days Inn, Ramada).

Larger rooms on 3rd floor. I reserved using Marriott site. Reservations through Orbitz, Expedia, etc. may not qualify for points. Call hotel.

Click on [MORE] below to format the following information in review for easier reading.

Airport pickup...................yes. Also offers PARK SLEEP FLY for those in Dayton area. .
Greeting.......................... Was fast and courteous.
Lobby ............................ Nice.
Room was as reserved ....Yes.
Room cleanliness..............Yes. No problems.
Bedding............................Comfortable.
Bathroom..........................Clean.

Pool..................................outdoor. did not use.
Fitness center..................yes. Did use and equipment was in working order.
Breakfast .........................yes. hot food buffet included with rate.
Room service .................. no
Pet friendly.......................not sure. Call hotel to see if extra fees.

Noise Level.......................See above.
Prices for value.................Moderate. Midweek rate $89 + taxes August 2013.
Brand / chain ....................Marriott.

Customers:........................Mix of mostly middle class clientele.
Location: ......................... Near interstate highway and airport.
Internet.............................Wireless in rooms and public areas. Was working fine.
Parking.............................Free self-parking. Ample spaces.

Room Tip: Tip: Near interstate highway. Noise all night. Might bother light sleepers. Rooms facing pool mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wimike999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We just needed someplace convenient when we were flying out of Dayton airport in the morning. This fit the bill for the right price. We checked in to a lovely entry area, with friendly staff. A few odd nighttime questions were handled with enormous grace. While it didn't apply to our trip, our recent experiences with wheelchairbound family has honed our handicap-accessiblility radars. We were pleased to see space to move throughout the breakfast bar, with real grab bars, shower seats, etc in the room, none of it being in the way. We skipped delicious smelling breakfast. The downsides: Freeway noise could be heard all night - nothing better windows wouldn't fix. Also, the fresh paint didn't completely cover the holes that were poorly mud/spackled/taped. Tape was peeling in the corners of our newly painted walls, and the ?water damaged ceiling hole >6 inches had been plastered, but was still quite visible even under the paint. These could be fixed, but looks like the mgmt is opting for quick/cosmetic rather than thorough repairs. We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmicFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieWills, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We strive to ensure all our guest are welcomed home and sincerely appreciate your patronage. I apologize for the lack of care given to a previous repair. We are currently in the planning stages of a complete renovation which will address the issues you found with your walls. With expected completion at the end of this year, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you once again should your travels bring you to Dayton once again.

Yours in Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Was so happy to find a nice place with a reasonable price , centrally located so I could walk to dinner....with all the amenities..$76.00 for room - with ref.micro. and cof.pot..etc etc..and allow doggie....Went to morning b'fast...found note/bill on my doorknob..with THIRTY dollar fee for DOG? went in to front desk and they said I was "told upon checkin" NO,,,I would have NEVER agreed to pay half of room cost for DOG fee? Very, very upsetting. Will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Great place IF you don't have a pet.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VALERIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dayton hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dayton
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Dayton North
15.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton
Address: 6960 Miller Lane, Dayton, OH 45414 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Dayton North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travelers and aviation fans alike, the Red Lion Inn & Suites in Dayton is here to help you relax and recharge during your travels. With ample amenities and features, like daily HOT breakfast buffet & free airport shuttle, we ensure that your stay is comfortable and a great value. Our friendly staff is ready to help with any questions or concerns, and our accommodations provide you with soft beds for sweet dreams. Centrally located on I-75, one mile south of I-70 and just 10 minutes from Dayton International Airport, our prime location is convenient to downtown, Wright Patterson Air Force Base, the National Museum of the US Air Force, and Wright State University. History buffs will enjoy easy access to Carillon Historical Park and the Dayton Aviation Heritage National Historical Park. If you’re bringing friends along, our group room rates are the best value option, and our pet-friendly hotel welcomes your four legged. familymembers too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Dayton North Hotel Dayton
Fairfield Dayton
Dayton Fairfield Inn
Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing