We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Carbondale, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Cheap and clean”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was a fine place to stay, especially considering the price. It looks like on old motel that has been updated and converted. They do have interior access rooms though. Staff were helpful and nice. I'd stay again if passing through Dayton.

Room Tip: I was more comfortable with the interior access room, but I'm sure the exterior access rooms wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    93
    70
    35
    18
See reviews for
73
62
27
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Surprisingly nice stay at the Fairfield. Its just off of 70, near lots if restaurant chains. Great service, comfortable room, nice selection of fruits and hot items for breakfast. I recommend it for travelers passing through Dayton.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCRickH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The most unusual floor plan I ever saw. The first 2 floors have external hallways, the 3rd floor is internal, (however the elavator landing is outside).. It took me 2 laps to find the office to check in, (HINT, it's on the northside, in the middle in the building, just look for the baggage carts). Once inside , I inquired about the layout, and the FRIENDLY desk clerk stated that it was an oringinal Fairfield Inn floor plan.( Good thing they've improved on it since). And now WHY would you stay here? It's LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! And about 150 cable channels on the TV, ( It's unusual ' cause the church channels are in the low numbers). There are 2 bar/ grills next door and about 10 dinner choices within a 3 block walk/drive. The hotel breakfast STARTS at 4AM, (and I used to get OFF WORK at that time). There are free fresh cookies in the evening. The 1 bed, room has a nice chair to watch TV.

Room Tip: Odd # rooms are on the southside of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xtc663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is an older Fairfield Inn with a smaller lobby and rooms that open to the outside on the first two floors. The upper floor has an interior hallway, but you still have to go outside to get to the lobby. I often stay here for one or two nights when in town on business - and it fits the bill for that great. The staff is super from the front desk to the breakfast attendant. If your looking for spacious rooms and fancy surroundings - not so much, but I find it to be a great value through the week. Food and shopping choices abound within minutes and freeway access is easy.

Room Tip: I prefer first floor (so I can shuffle busines stuff in and out) - towards Miller (away from the fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig71188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I moved to this hotel after staying (1) night at another hotel in the area. What a difference! Staff was great, accommodating, rooms clean and breakfast was awsome. Special thanks to Lisa, Brenda & Sharon. I will definitely stay here when in Dayton, Ohio!

Room Tip: Stay on the south side of the hotel if you can. It seems to be nice & quiet there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coyt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Overall, the hotel would be fine except for the rooms-- which is the biggest part of your hotel stay. The staff was great, breakfast selection & cleanliness of food areas was very good. Great location with a wide variety of restaurants nearby. Lobby was small & so were the rooms. The room had small frig., microwave, flat screen tv, work desk & easy chair. It seemed so cramped & the bathroom was tiny! I must say the room was very clean, nice bedding & linens. Exterior entrances were a shock---don't like that aspect at all. Hotel looked like it used to be some other chain & Marriott bought it & refurbished. Just a guess.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksp51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dayton hotels
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dayton
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Dayton North Airport
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Dayton North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton
Address: 6960 Miller Lane, Dayton, OH 45414 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Dayton North)
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business travelers and aviation fans alike, the Red Lion Inn & Suites in Dayton is here to help you relax and recharge during your travels. With ample amenities and features, like daily HOT breakfast buffet & free airport shuttle (also goes within a 5 mile radius of the property), we ensure that your stay is comfortable and a great value. Our friendly staff is ready to help with any questions or concerns, and our accommodations provide you with soft beds for sweet dreams. Centrally located on I-75, one mile south of I-70 and just 10 minutes from Dayton International Airport, our prime location is convenient to downtown, Wright Patterson Air Force Base, the National Museum of the US Air Force, and Wright State University. History buffs will enjoy easy access to Carillon Historical Park and the Dayton Aviation Heritage National Historical Park. If you’re bringing friends along, our group room rates are the best value option, and our pet-friendly hotel welcomes your four legged, family members too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Dayton North Hotel Dayton
Fairfield Dayton
Dayton Fairfield Inn
Red Lion Inn & Suites Dayton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing