We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic meal”

Amber Rose Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 753 Restaurants in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: German, European, Eastern European, Central European, Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bickmore
Description: The Amber Rose Restaurant and Catering specializes in homemade Eastern European Cusine including German, Lithuanian, Polish, Hungarian, Russian and Italian cuisines. Our bar is made of imported Turkish marble, perfect for having an appetizer and spirits with friends. Our beer and wine lists consist of exemplary, hard-to-find European beverages. The building is located in the heart of Old North Dayton. We also specialize in custom catering to fit any of your needs. History of the Building The building, in which The Amber Rose Restaurant is located, was origionally built in 1910 by Sigmund Ksiezopolski. It ran as a general store and deli named Sig’s up until the early 1980′s. The family ran the general store downstairs and resided upstairs as their family quarters. The National Guard stayed with the family during the Great Flood of 1913. In 1989 Elinor Sluzas acquired the building with the intention of opening a restaurant. Before the scheduled grand opening there was a horrific fire and a portion of the building had to be rebuilt. The restaurant officially opened for businesss in 1990. Elinor may have retired but her recipes have stayed the same. Enjoy our homemade cuisines in our European Cafe inspired dining room. There are two private banquet rooms located in the building to host events or we can cater to any requested location. Quality catering and banquet services at our place or yours
McMurray, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

After reading the reviews, we decided to try the Amber Rose for dinner. The sauerkraut balls were an outstanding start to the evening. For the main course, each of us tried a different dish, ranging from the schnitzel to the chicken paprikas to the Warsaw sampler. Overall we were very pleased with the food...all of which was very similar to the foods I've enjoyed at home over the years. If you're in Dayton and in the mood for some great Eastern European food, make sure you visit the Amber Rose.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMM1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at Amber Rose Restaurant, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank You for dining with us at The Amber Rose. We are very pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    60
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
120 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This place rocks! This restaurant alone is reason enough to drive to dayton. If you have not been here, do so

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SW3Taco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at Amber Rose Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank You! Your rating and kind words are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Culinary experience we thoroughly enjoyed”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were at the National Museum of the US Air Force when I did a Trip Advisor search of nearby restaurants. I think it was the sauerkraut balls (which were fritter like and light) that drew me in, but the rest of their menu is equally as interesting and diverse. Steve had the Hunter Schnitzel Sandwich with pretzel encrusted pork loin, fresh tomatoes, lettuce and dark mustard; I had the hearty Turtle Soup w/half a Turkey Reuben on incredible rye bread. All were abundant portions and of obviously high quality ingredients. It was hard to make a decision of what to order. Jeri was a great server, polite, professional and very personable. Felt like we had been there before and were welcome back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllstaedtX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at Amber Rose Restaurant, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank You so much for dining with us at The Amber Rose. Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Quaint Venue”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We came to old North Dayton for my husband's 50th Class reunion and had a Meet and Greet in the Amber Rose's upstairs facility. The space was very charming! The service was what you should expect for a "function" such as this. The only challenge...I was sooo looking forward to the authentic Eastern European menu and though it was a great selection the food was served less then luke warm. My husband's was all but cold! I noticed many of the guests were leaving large portions on their plates. So sad as I was told by my husband this was an "Old Institution" of North Dayton.
OH..and by the way....I was told it was haunted! Great story...be sure and ask someone about it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bfzebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vandalia, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tasty, Unusual Offerings for Dayton”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We've visited this restaurant several times and it's a favorite 'date-night' destination.
The service has always been friendly and efficient, and I've developed an addiction to both their bier-cheese and pretzels appetizer and the potato pancakes (I never said I was a healthy eater).
The menu offers eastern European flavors and we've taken guests from Europe there with us who find it to be 'quite acceptable', which is high praise indeed coming from them.
The atmosphere is quaint - it's a converted house with wooden flooring, and bistro style chairs as well as booths and coffered ceiling. It's a nice change of pace from the boring chain restaurants.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wasukasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, Manager at Amber Rose Restaurant, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amber Rose Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing