We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have been going to Graeter's for years” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Graeter's Ice Cream

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Graeter's Ice Cream
Ranked #2 of 22 Dessert in Dayton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Handcrafted for Five Generations Since 1870. Louis and Regina Graeter started handcrafting Graeter's Ice Cream in 1870. Today, generations later, we proudly remain family owned and operated. This is made possible thanks to you, our legion of loyal fans. For a century and a half, Graeter's has remained steadfast in our commitment to making ice cream in 2 gallon French Pots one batch at a time.
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
480 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Have been going to Graeter's for years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We first went in Cinci, then Columus, but this was our first time in Dayton. Same GREAT ice cream. The chocolate chips they use in the ice cream are unbelievable. Not uniform in size and wonderfully tasteful, but the best thing is, that the chips are soft and chewy even though frozen. This is a very, very special treat. Our only disappointment was that the shoestring licorice we bought was stale and not edible. Make sure it is fresh before you buy it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lilirishstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    13
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good ice cream but be prepared to pay!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Graeter's has delicious ice cream. It's very creamy and has excellent flavor. However, they have a limited selection of flavors (compared to other ice cream places I've visited) and are VERY pricey for only one scoop. They are good about offering samples of ice cream flavors, so take your time in choosing (and maybe get a few more bites for your money!). They offer a rewards card. I think you get 1 point for each $1 you spend. The points are good for prizes and coupons.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
221 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Delicious but pricey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The ice cream was awesome. Very creamy. It was a bit pricey, but what ice cream shop isn't. We all know we can go to the grocery store and get a gallon of ice cream for the same price. The pretzel cone dipped in chocolate was very good.

There were several young employees. They were all very helpful, patient and friendly. We went back two nights in a row.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brooklynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Love this ice cream. It's the best I've ever had. Very creamy, no matter what flavor you get. You can immediately taste the difference in quality. Highly recommend Graeters to anyone who really loves ice cream

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
2 reviews
“Greaters Caters to the Rich”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Wake up America - why would you pay almost 8 dollars for two ice cream cones when you can buy a whole gallon for less. Yes, it's good but the average unemployed worked certainly can't afford it, only the working and the rich. Also, I am a diabetic and there is not one thing there I can eat - no low fat, no surgar free etc. they should at least offer one low fat or surgar free item so I don't have to just sit there and watch my friends eat their ice cream. Get on board way over-priced for today's average family.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmd5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graeter's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Graeter's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing