We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in town!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakwood Club Incorporated

Oakwood Club Incorporated
Ranked #14 of 743 Restaurants in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We ate here last night for my husband's 50th birthday. Our reservations were at 6:30 and we were promptly seated. We have eaten several times here in the past and have never been disappointed. My husband had the oysters on the half shell and the prime rib.The oysters were fresh and the prime rib melted in his mouth. I had a cup of French onion soup and it was some of the best I've ever had! My twin fillet medallions and pan seared lemon sole were cooked to perfection. The salads are fresh and served on chilled plates along with warm salty rye and garlic crusted bread. Yummy! The garlic mashed potatoes were hot and homemade and the stewed tomatoes are the best. Our waitress was friendly and very attentive. It is on the expensive side but the portions and quality of the food are well worth the price. I highly recommend this great restaurant for a special occasion or romantic dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    45
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Dayton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

No need to drive to Cinn. We have the best restaurant here. The food is consistently wonderful. Better have a reservation even on week nights. The menu even offers selections for small appetites. Good Chef Nate, and good bar, by Greg. Well-selected wine specials.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
298 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Hollywood in downtown Dayton!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is the second time my family has enjoyed the Oakwood Club in Dayton for a special occasion, and again I expected to see Frank Sinatra dining at the next table, it's just that type of atmosphere. The service is impeccable, and take your time with the menu, because you will have a hard time choosing between those incredible selections. The shrimp bisque I had was marvelous, and the prime rib and filets our family enjoyed were cooked to perfection. Add fresh bread and sides, and yes, you will be going home with a "doggie bag." They don't accept reservations for parties of less than five, so our family got there right at 5:00 on a Saturday evening and didn't have trouble, but by 6:00 it was full, and yes, it is dressy. But, ENJOY, ENJOY, ENJOY!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Might be one of the best restaurants I've been to in years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

It has to be one of the best surf-and-turf options in the Midwest. The steak melted in my mouth and the homemade bread is outstanding. It has been years since I've been here and it's always provided a great steak. The side items are grilled to perfection (I had the asparagus) and the atmosphere is awesome. It's in one of the best sections of town (near the university) and it's one of the classiest eateries in the Miami Valley. Even though it's always busy when I visit, it's worth the wait and I will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GentlemanJim62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adams, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A group of 7 ate here on a Friday evening, suggest having reservations. Food and service were excellent. If traveling to Dayton this is a must place to eat. Just an excellent overall experience and reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakwood Club Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Oakwood Club Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing