We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently excellent”

Oakwood Club Incorporated
Ranked #14 of 746 Restaurants in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

It’s hard not to like a restaurant that has a well-trained and friendly staff, generous portions of food always cooked to perfection and a menu with a variety of choices. Since most folks can cook a good steak at home, I recommend its fish or other daily specials, just for something different. Of course, the New York strip is hard to beat, if you are strictly a meat eater. It’s best to arrive before 6:00 p.m. on any night, as there can be a frequent one hour wait for a table. This is, by far, our favorite restaurant in Dayton.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Professorbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    46
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakwood, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Dayton favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

The Oakwood Club has long been my favorite restaurant in Dayton. I prefer independently operated places, and this one combines excellent food and service with a 1960's vibe--minus the cigarette smoke. I've never had a bad meal here.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
213 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“All around great meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Just had a great meal at the Oakwood Club! Service was quick and the atmosphere was great and very festive. Started out with unbelievable bread as a starter with French onion soup and escargot. Had one of the specials and it was phenomenal. Salmon and scallops. If your in Dayton, I highly recommend this as a stop for a great meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“love it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

i love this place.don't go in looking like a bum.their food is wonderful.the best french onion soup i have ever eaten.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank tristarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful experisnce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We finally decided to visit the Oakwood Club after gearing many wonderful things about the food and the service. We were no disappointed. We were wise to call ahead for a reservation as it was very busy for a Tuesday night. We were seated and given a few moments to review the wine list before out waitress greeted us. She was very helpful with answering questions regarding the dinner menu. When our dinner was served it was hot, exactly as we had expected, and very good. Our plans are to be back soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dakotalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakwood Club Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Oakwood Club Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing