We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a chain fish place FINALLY”
Review of Sweeney's Seafood

Sweeney's Seafood
Ranked #44 of 752 Restaurants in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Cajun & Creole, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a chain fish place FINALLY”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Sweeneys has great fish and seafood. I love the nautica atmosphere and the non fussy way they take care of the public... The bar is great....big selection of beers and wine.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    37
    16
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
226 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Yikes!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

What did we like? Nothing. Well, maybe the bread and butter. Although they really skimped on it!

The service was horrible. It seemed like nobody knew what they were doing.

The food was even worse. My boyfriend order the lobster at over $40. It was very fishy and gross! I ordered the shrimp linguine special. It was extremely bland.

I would never recommend this place to my friends.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
316 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This restaurant has been around for years, but we forget about it, so had not been for a long time. We had a very pleasant dinner and the waitress was excellent. The atmosphere was attractive with exotic fish in aquariums and sails on the ceiling. We will return soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank timesharetraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Seafood dry”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I went on a date and we both love seafood. We hadn't been to Sweeney's in awhile and were so disappointed. His crab cakes were dry and my grouper was overcooked. We love the locals, but back to Bonefish for us.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cingplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New ownewrs even better menu”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Sweeney’s seafood restaurant located at 28 W. Franklin Centerville, Ohio changed their owners and the new owners are keeping the menu item that made the restaurant great but are adding more healthful items. The food quality is still up to the same high standards from the previous owner they have just increased the menu items and also have brightened up the décor while still maintaining the nautical approach. If you have never been there it is certainly worth a trip and if you have been there its worth stopping again to see the improvements.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank rkaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweeney's Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Sweeney's Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing