We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for the road.....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chop House

The Chop House
Ranked #25 of 743 Restaurants in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
The Great Commonwealth of Va
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fine for the road.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The food was average. The wine list was very well done for a chain. The bartenders were hilarious & the best part of the experience! Great service & funny!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Room508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    68
    23
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality and Affordable lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Went here for a business lunch . The food is of very high quality and extremely affordable . The service was extremely fast and got a table of 7 in and out in less than a hour. If I'm in the area I'll come back here again. Thanks for the great lunch and speedy service. I'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Poor Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Four of us dined at the Chop House recently. I had the Chop House Pork Chop, excellent as always. But my companions did not fare so well. The scrod was about the same as what is sold at Bob Evans, a sirloin steak was grisly, and the prime rib tasted like it came pre-cooked from Gordon's. And the waiter was poor. We won't go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brunnegd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chop House Restaurqnt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great restaurant anytime of the day. Great selections for lunch and dinner. Good bar choices if you just want a drink and appetizers. Atmosphere is good. Staff is friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Filet/ Awesome Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Every time I come here, the steak is cooked perfectly. You just cannot find a better deal for filet in this city. $23 for a 6 oz and $27 for a 9 oz and it comes with a salad, side, and fresh baked bread. I went for restaurant week and the service was excellent, despite how busy they were. I was very impressed that they were able to stick very closely to my reservation time as well. A lot of times you have to wait for a table even though you have a reservation. That was not the case here. I loved this place so much that I brought my husband back four days later. The house salad is fantastic. I highly recommend this place. I loved the ambiance, especially in the back room where they had a large fireplace.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gossamerfirefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chop House also viewed

 

Been to The Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing