We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience”
Review of Thai Nine

Thai Nine
Ranked #3 of 760 Restaurants in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Eaton, Ohio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Server was quick and very attentive. Food was served in a short time. Taste of food was very good and server was knowledgeable about spice heat. Building was clean and provided a nice atmosphere for being in a warehouse. I would definitely return if I were wanting Thai food. Prices are $$.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel4CEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    178
    54
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice fresh Thai food”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Thai 9 was an eclectic but pleasant experience; its warehouse nature means it is not intimate but was clean and uncrowded, four of us had a nice evening there. I usually like to ask for mixed starters for however many, it saves time and everyone enjoys the sharing. They did not support that concept but a selection provided some tasty starters, in fact we hardly needed entree's after as they were so generous, crab cakes, coconut prawns and satay chicken were tasty with interesting sauces.

The Thai entree dishes were sensible portions with shared rice; very nice, flavourful, fresh, not fatty or overly sweetened, as others say the heat rating was bizzar 7 was about 4 for a 1-5 rating the others had 4's and found them just right. Also how sushi fits with this cuisine combo is crazy, did a Thai marry Japanese here? We did not try it too comment on how good it is.

Brit's criticise American beer, we need to wake up the US micro-brews are imaginative and great, and they had a good selection here. Again, this variety of flavours although great do not all go with the food. Service was very friendly but average, no knowledge of beers or foods, chopsticks came by time I had finished!

I would just give this 3 by European standards but in a culinary wasteland this deserves a 4, sorry Daytonites.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ferdie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian choice”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Eaten here a few times whilst in Dayton from the UK. Always had a good meal, with a good choice of beers (the US have really excelled in brewing recently!). Plenty of vegetarian options. Decent sized portions. Also we are not packed in tightly - best use of space is made, which leads to an enjoyable atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveUK1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food in Dayton”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were in Dayton last night for a concert at the Shuster Center and thought we would have dinner at Thai 9 as it was one of our favorites when we lived in Dayton. The food was delicious. At our table we split the Chicken Thai Spicy, Spicy Noodles, Chicken Fried Rice and two different sushi rolls between 4 people. It was plenty of food and it was all good. We got a spice level of 5 on the noodles and 6 on the Chicken Thai Spicy. If we went back again soon, I would dial up the spice to 8 or 9 on a scale that goes to 9.

One frustrating thing was that we actually had a reservation at 5:30 and when we got there we were told we had to wait. I thought a reservation meant you had a table reserved. Clearly, it does not at Thai 9. The explanation from the hostess was weak. I am guessing they don't care. The place was packed at 5:30 and jammed at 7:00 when we left. There were probably 40 people waiting. A great place, but don't assume your table will be ready if you have a reservation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt22260993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenport, Long Island Wine Country, New York
Level Contributor
137 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great thai in Oregon District”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Was very happy with the food and the restaurant itself was housed in a very cool historic building. All the food was on point. It did not disappoint.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank stirlinghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thai Nine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing