We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the new Courtyards - you will like it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Dayton
Reviewed September 2, 2009

This Courtyard is about two years old and located just across the river from the old - very old -- standby Dayton marriott. This Courtyard is one of the newer footprints and also is one that offers a limited dinner menu (approx 3-4 salads, 4 sandwiches, and 4-5 entrees) at a reasonable price. The standard Courtyard breakfast is available. Many of the staff are younger and very bright UD students and it is apparent that the better ones were hired. They are attentive, helpful, and friendly. Parking is easy, safe and the location is just off I-75 although you would not know it - it is close enough to be easy to find and far enough you will not get the expressway noise. This is one of the top-notch Marriott Courtyards. I hate to let everyone know because I use it a lot now and I worry about it being sold out.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerONE2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 199 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2008

Excellent new facility. Near UD and much nicer than the Marriott just up the street from this hotel. Across the street from UD Arena but not near any dining options. If you are visiting the University of Dayton, this should be your destination.

Rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. Flat screen TV's and good desk space to work from.

Right on the edge of a seedier part of Dayton. Request room on back side of the hotel facing the river. Quieter and better view than front facing I-75 and restaurant construction.

Employees are outstanding. They will go out of their way to make sure your stay is the best it can be. Friendly and very accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Booked a double room online through Marriott's website to go to a friend's wedding nearby. Paid $119 per night + tax without breakfast. The property is located near the highway and across the street from the U of Dayton's arena a few minute drive from downtown. Nothing nearby to walk but Dayton is more of driving city anyway.

Check-in was smooth and professional. Our second floor standard double room was facing the river/canal and had no detectable outside noise. Rooms seemed new or recently updated. Flat panel TV, new linens, freshly updated furnishings, bathroom was slightly dated but had a granite vanity top. Since we in town for only a short time and consumed with wedding related activities, we did not visit the pool, hot tub, or other facilities and did not have an occasion to eat in the restaurant or lounge.

For this price range, this hotel was perfectly satisfactory, had good service, and had nicer rooms than I expected. I'd stay here again!

When in Dayton be sure to visit the US Air Force Museum, it is a blockbuster!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globedecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

Not too bad, I travel extensively. The bed was comfy and the comforter, sheets were so comfortable. Also the pillows were incredible and plentiful with many types to choose from.
Everything in the room was very clean. Big LCD TV too! Awesome bathroom!

Rather deserted - it is close to a nasty part of town, not thrilled about that... but the hotel is nice.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank loveguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

Very New, with flat screen monitors, etc. Very close to the interstate (but not so close as to hear roadnoise) and the U of D arena. However it is in a less than desirable part of town and nearby food choices are limited (read nil). I was in Dayton to work at Wright Patterson and if I had to do it all over again, I would stay in Beavercreek (give up the flat screen) for the proxmity to the base, safer environs and nearby food

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JimBr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2007

This hotel is new, February 2007. It is across the street from the UD Arena. A guest could walk to the games and avoid the traffic which should be heavy. Demand a riverview room because the other side faces the Interstate and the construction of a restaurant. I moved after one night on the noisy side. Well furnished. Internet in the room is free; it costs extra at the nearby Marriott Hotel. Buffet breakfast is $8 and I'm not sure it was worth it. Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CASanMarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

I had brief but pleasant stay at this property the other day while taking my daughter for a tour of the University of Dayton. The location is excellent for anyone looking to visit the school.

The hotel is also a short drive (5 minutes) from downtown and the Oregon District, which has many good restaurants.

This seems to be a fairly new property and everything we came in contact with was in excellent shape. The room was beautifully appointed right down to bathroom tiling that looked like it came out of one of those ubiquitous home-flipping shows on TV. The room included an HD flat panel TV, which provided outstanding picture quality.

We did not use the small restaurant or bar area, so I cannot comment on those other than to say they were quite attractive.

One potential area for concern: the walls seemed a little thin. Though it did not cause us any real problem, when we went to bed we could hear our neighbor talking on the phone, and in the morning her alarm went off and I could have sworn it was in our room! Otherwise the room was quiet, so I am not willing to knock down the rating. But if you have big ears or those kinds of things really bother you, be forewarned.

At about $155 a night it is not cheap, but it was worth the price given the quality of the hotel and the convenient location.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dayton hotels
0.7 mi away
Marriott at the University of Dayton
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dayton
Crowne Plaza Dayton
#19 of 46 in Dayton
416 reviews
7.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Courtyard Dayton North
Courtyard Dayton North
#17 of 46 in Dayton
144 reviews
7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
6.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dayton South/Miamisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton

Address: 2006 S Edwin C Moses Blvd, Dayton, OH 45417-4675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dayton
#10 Business Hotel in Dayton
Price Range: $103 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Dayton hotel is near the University of Dayton Arena offers all of the comfort you expect from a Marriott hotel. Our updated guest rooms and suites offer luxury bedding, mini-refrigerators and Free Wireless High Speed Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dayton-University Of Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Marriott
Dayton Courtyard
Courtyard Dayton-University Of Dayton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing