We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place, but staff is incompetent and kind of mean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Greenville, SC
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“OK place, but staff is incompetent and kind of mean”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel is sort of nicer than average; very clean, nice public areas, cool outdoor koi pond with waterfall, but I can't say much for the staff. I'm not sure Univ of Dayton really wants their name associated with this property - I know I wouldn't. They are slow and somewhat rude at the front desk, there is no help with your bags, the elevator is slow as molasses, and the whole place is noisy. You can hear every word anyone says out in the hall. Breakfast is a complete rip-off and almost not eatable. Watch out: they will get your bill wrong and then fight about it. I would not choose to stay here again but there isn't much else unfortunately.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBPandDSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
EBPandDSP,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that you did not receive the exceptional service you’ve come to expect from us. I have addressed these issues with our staff inorder to improve our customer service and guest experience. We value your feedback on these areas and hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit us again to see our improvements. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    67
    29
    14
    5
See reviews for
64
20
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was my second year staying at the University of Dayton Courtward for Hamvention, and the experience was basically the same as last year. The decor was nice, the rooms were comfy, and the pool and hot tub were fantastic (especially after a long day of standing). The beds were still a bit uncomfortable with misfitted mattress pads, but nothing terrible. Everything was clean and well-maintained.

Just a couple of minor complaints:

* As noted in another review, the front desk staff were rarely at the front desk. Instead, they were typically chatting in the back room. Each time a customer would go to the desk, he/she would have to wait a few minutes until noticed (on camera?) and someone would come out. Even at peak times, the front desk was consistently vacant, creating a poor customer experience.

* The breakfast staff, though outwardly polite, provided somewhat poor service. My silverware was set out on a dirty table (twice, by two different people), my omelet order was forgotten, and my empty juice glass was not refilled without chasing down a server. The food was decent, but a few small service improvements could go a long way.

Overall, the staff were polite despite the minor issues listed above, and I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheInternationalLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
TheInternationalLine,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at the Courtyard. We’re glad to hear you took advantage of the pool and hot tub after your long days, and found the cleanliness of our accommodations to meet your expectations. We greatly appreciate your feedback on the opportunities for improving our guest experience. We hope you’ll visit us again soon to see our improvements. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caux, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Maybe I am being unfair and it is wat it is but I think a hotel tat links itself so explicitly to the University might be a little mre aspirational. Ordinary furnishing, limited services (shlep your own bags), tired decoration... Meh, meh, eh. Not terrible or disgusting but Could Do Better. Glad to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senechaldubaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
senechaldubaron,
Thank you for writing a review. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here 6 nights over a two week period while I was working on rotations at a few of the area hospitals. The front desk staff was kind but sometimes absent. The restaurant is overly priced and be aware that the prices in the menu are less than what the prices actually are by a couple dollars per item.

The room appeared clean. I could hear hallway noise from guests going to and from their rooms and I could hear neighbors talking sometimes. Overall, it was quiet, though. I did have one experience where there was some sort of stain on my bed sheets when I first arrived. I called the front desk to request new bed linens. I guy brought them to my door and left. I had to take the old ones off and put on the new ones myself. I really didn't want a strange guy in my room anyway; so I didn't mind doing it myself. The beds were comfortable and I slept well while I was there.

The hotel is conveniently located off a major highway. There are not many options around for restaurants. There is a McDonalds down the street, but they have terrible service and accepted cash only (no credit card). I thought that was very strange. There are a lot of construction workers and road-worker crews that stay in this hotel after their shifts. They were all very friendly but I can see this hotel gets a lot of traffic.

From what I have read on other reviews, this seems to be one of the better hotels to stay at when you visiting this area. I wasn't overwhelmed or anything, but I can say this was a clean and relatively quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batgirljami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
batgirljami,
Thank you for sharing a review about your recent stay with us. We apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. The little details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark during your visit. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed at the Courtyard for one night recently while on a business trip. The woman at the front desk who checked me in was very friendly, and the check-in process was a breeze. The room was nice, I liked that they had free Wi-Fi. The lobby portion of the hotel was very clean and nice, what you'd expect from a Courtyard. Overall I was very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColumbusBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
ColumbusBuckeye,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Courtyard. We’re glad you had a pleasant stay with us while in town for business. We hope you’ll visit us again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mars, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the property this past weekend to reconnoiter for our son's upcoming wedding that will be across the Little Miami River at Carillon Park. We found the front desk staff helpful and the rooms spacious and well-appointed. We especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet-$9.95 but a good selection of food and very friendly staff, including chef Lauretta.Location relative to UD, Brown Street, and the Carillion Park is great, and it's just off of I-75.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Warren H,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Courtyard Dayton. Congratulations on your son’s upcoming wedding! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while in town. I’m pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful. I’ll make sure Lauretta receives a special commendation for her outstanding service. We enjoyed having you and your family as our guests and hope we’ll see you all again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Everything at this hotel is excellent. The staff goes way above and beyond any expectation. I have stayed here for the past 3 months and it seems more like home to me everytime I stay. Everything is just the way you would not only want it to be, but expect it to be. the rooms are a very comfortable size, everything is clean. The food in the restaurant is very good, and the restauarant employees are extremely nice, helpful, and pleasant. This is one hotel which allows me to enjoy travelling for business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee B, General Manager at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Jerry B,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience with us at Courtyard Dayton. I’m happy to hear that our friendly staff helps provides you with exceptional service while you’re in town for business. Thank you for choosing our hotel to be your home away from home. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dayton hotels
0.7 mi away
Marriott at the University of Dayton
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dayton
Crowne Plaza Dayton
#17 of 45 in Dayton
401 reviews
7.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
6.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dayton South/Miamisburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton

Property: Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
Address: 2006 S Edwin C Moses Blvd, Dayton, OH 45417-4675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Dayton
#10 Business Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Dayton hotel is near the University of Dayton Arena offers all of the comfort you expect from a Marriott hotel. Our updated guest rooms and suites offer luxury bedding, mini-refrigerators and Free Wireless High Speed Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dayton-University Of Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Marriott
Dayton Courtyard
Courtyard Dayton-University Of Dayton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing