We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a typical coutryard marriott. Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Dayton
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I've stayed at this Courtyard a few times in the past. Overall it is a typical courtyard. It is relatively new and clean. The beds are comfortable. The restaurant for breakfast this morning was very crowded because of the UD game. Overall, a good courtyard. I recommend it if you will be in the area. Particularly great place to stay for any games at UD Arena. Right across the street from the arena.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewBVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

AndrewBVA,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you staying with us at Courtyard UD. I'm glad you liked our hotel, staff, and great location. Please plan to visit us again. We look forward to it.
Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 200 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

It's a Marriott. They were training the front desk people and I have stayed in so many Marriott Courtyards I knew more than they did. Recently stayed in a Holiday Inn and their property upgrade was so nice I'm thinking about switching loyalty programs. The same decor over these many years feels tired. Generally the place felt a bit gritty and not sharp and kept up. My room on the second floor had one of those long entry halls to the bed but I could hear clearly what was going on in the hallway. Loud people late at night woke me up a couple of times.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinGal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

LinGal2001,
Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Courtyard, and we're always glad to hear from our loyal Marriott guests. I apologize for your stay not being a satisfying one for you. Your feedback is important and I'm glad to hear from you. We will work on making improvements and hope you'll return to see them. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here to visit UD and see a basketball game. The hotel is right across and a short walk from the arena, although on this very cold day we could have used the shuttle that the other bigger Marriott has. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was Marriott comfortable and the mini fridge was a nice extra. Although the room was nice size, the web site led us to believe the room was more of a suite with some division between the bed and couch. The lobby, pool and exercise room were very nice. We would definitely recommend if you are going to a game.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilirishstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

lilirishstar,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at Courtyard. We're glad you chose to stay with us while visiting UD, and we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I'm glad you liked our staff and comfortable rooms. Please plan to visit us again. We enjoyed your company.
Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night, checked in around 10 pm. Opened door to my room and there was some other gentleman sitting at the desk in his underwear working on his computer. I've stayed in 100+ hotels per year for the past six our seven years and this had never happened before. Sloppy and alarming. Doesn't make me feel safe.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianJDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear CanadianJDK:
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. Due to the importance of privacy, we will be reaching out to you in a personal manner. Thank you.
Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We are from the area and needed a place to stay during the week in early December. We have never been too impressed by the "big" Marriott on the East side of the Great Miami, but this one has been built in the last few years as a joint project between the University of Dayton and Marriott to for the basketball fans. This Marriott courtyard has a small but nicely appointed lobby. We were given a room which was very comfortable and quiet. Staff said they were busier than usual, and the parking lot was full, but it was not evident to me with much noise, foot traffic, etc.

The food is okay -- your basic bar food at night. Breakfast was generous, but I recall it was not free. The bedroom, bathroom and halls were clean; staff was friendly; I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrlandsReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

CarrlandsReview,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to have had you as our guests, and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated and we hope your comments will encourage others to come and stay with us at Courtyard UD. I'm glad you liked our hotel and friendly staff. Please visit us again.
Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife is a alumni of the university and big UD basketball fan. We stayed at this hotel when taking out 2 girls to their first UD basketball game, and we couldn't have picked a better hotel/location. The hotel is right across from UD arena. We were able to park at the hotel, check in, and then walk across the street to the game, avoiding the parking headache. If you are in from out of town to check out a game, I would recommend this as well. It made it very easy and convenient.

The room was very nice as well. We had a small balcony that overlooked the river which was nice. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel lobby was very nice as well. Nice to have a fridge in the room also. TV was new and nice also.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area to visit UD, and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamaican_Rudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Jamaican_Rudy,
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Courtyard while visiting the university and taking in a basketball game. I hope you all had a great time! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and staff, and we hope you will return for another exceptional visit.
Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is the second time we have stay here while visiting relatives in Dayton. I hate to say it, but the bathrooms were not very clean. Mostly it was the floors, but even the "reuse towel" hang tag had something icky on it. Behind the door was a line of dirt on the wall where it had been mopped and the towels seemed worn and gray. The side tile in the shower had many stains and a black handprint I washed off with washcloth. The rest of the room was clean and comfortable. I did not contact management because it really wasn't that big of a deal. (My husband said I was being too picky.)

We ate breakfast at the hotel and although a little high, was very good and had good service.

Out of the last 7-10 hotels I have stayed at in the last year, this the most unclean and we have stayed in a couple of pretty low budget offerings due to remote locations.

However, this is the perfect location for us with easy access, so we will probably stay here again. I may just check the room a little more closely before unpacking.

Room Tip: On the east side you can watch the birds on the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

laurachick,
Thank you for writing a review. We appreciate having you and your husband as our guests. I'm glad you liked our rooms and find our hotel to be a good location for your family visits. Please accept my apology for any housekeeping issues you encountered during your stay. Your satisfaction is important to us, so I appreciate your feedback and will inform our staff of your comments. We're glad to hear that you do plan to stay with us again, and we hope to show you our excellence in cleanliness the next time you visit.
Sincerely,
Janie Loughran, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dayton hotels
0.7 mi away
Marriott at the University of Dayton
7.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dayton
Crowne Plaza Dayton
#19 of 46 in Dayton
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dayton South/Miamisburg
7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
8.2 mi away
Courtyard Dayton North
Courtyard Dayton North
#16 of 46 in Dayton
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton

Address: 2006 S Edwin C Moses Blvd, Dayton, OH 45417-4675
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dayton
#10 Business Hotel in Dayton
Price Range: $122 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Dayton hotel is near the University of Dayton Arena offers all of the comfort you expect from a Marriott hotel. Our updated guest rooms and suites offer luxury bedding, mini-refrigerators and Free Wireless High Speed Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Dayton-University Of Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Marriott
Dayton Courtyard
Courtyard Dayton-University Of Dayton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing