We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting place for car lovers”

America's Packard Museum - The Citizens Motorcar Co.
Ranked #5 of 61 things to do in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fenton, Illinois
Level Contributor
509 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Interesting place for car lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

While on a group bus tour we stopped at this Citizens Motor Car and Packard Museum in Dayton. The men in my group really enjoyed this place. It is in an old dealership so that adds credence to the cars and displays. You can even smell a bit of oil and grease!! Two men who volunteer there were very informative and loved sharing their love of the Packard.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank peonyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    47
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Spent a half day enjoying the Packards on display!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Wanted to try something different this year, so I found the Dayton Packard Museum and spent a half day touring. The price was right at $5.00 for Seniors. Was easy to find and had lots to look at on my stay. Took over 100 photo of the cars to look at again now that I'm home. Would enjoy going back for a second trip next year.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jhais28374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
510 reviews
237 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We found this place by accident. The information that I had read on it didn't do it justice. If you like old cars, this museum is well worth the visit. Located in an old dealership in downtown Dayton, they have about 40 beautiful old cars. Our guide was very informative and really added to our visit. If you have a couple of hours, this museum would be a great place to visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ricmar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Lake, OH
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good place for car buffs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We found it by accident, but what a place. Anybody who likes antique cars, check it out. The staff are pleasant and informative about the vehicles on site. We really enjoyed it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sewerSilverLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcome back to 1956 .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I learned about this place from a friend . As a Packard enthusiast , I couldn't resist . The 5 dollar admission charge is a bargain ! Enjoyed looking at all the beautiful Packard cars . Some are very historically important ! The staff was friendly & answered all my questions . If I ever return to Dayton , you'll find me here !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed America's Packard Museum - The Citizens Motorcar Co. also viewed

 

Been to America's Packard Museum - The Citizens Motorcar Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing