We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Family Place”

Carriage Hill MetroPark
Ranked #16 of 61 things to do in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Farm life in the 1880s comes alive at Carriage Hill MetroPark. Visitor Center exhibits start the journey back in time while demonstrations, reconstructed and historical buildings, and even period farm animals paint the picture. There are also acres of natural beauty to enjoy and a horseback riding center.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Place”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We live just 5 minutes away and eat our take-out suppers there often. It is so much fun to watch the ducks and geese and watch people fishing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank racefan2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    33
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved visiting the farm!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had to kill some time while I was at a conference in Dayton, and so we stopped by the historical farm. It was great! There is a living history area where the family had their homestead. It's well maintained and there are plenty of animals to see. My favorite was the donkey in the pasture that had a herd of sheep following it around. There are also exhibits and clean bathrooms in the Visitor's Center, as well as a little cafe (take cash!). It was dusk so we didn't stay more than an hour, but we'll definitely be back when we're in the area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank linzy383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Carlisle, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Watch for the special events”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Watch for the special events when there are additional programs going on and many people to explain demonstrations.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Randy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
241 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun times!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I like going here, just haven't had time. Have animals and special events, lots of music. Usually folk, bluegrass, and other American music. Just off I70 near Huber Heights, it is really easy to get to!

Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a place!!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This place sends you back to the good old days. When times were simple and things were safe. A time when people actually earned a living, a time when mommies were home tending to kids instead of dropping them off and letting strangers raise them. A must see place. I love it

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank richpmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carriage Hill MetroPark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing