We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably a Great Museum for Toddlers”

Boonshoft Museum of Discovery
Ranked #6 of 61 things to do in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Boonshoft Museum is the premier destination for family learning in the Miami Valley. It is a natural history museum, science center, children's museum, planetarium, observatory and zoo!
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
166 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Probably a Great Museum for Toddlers”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I went to this museum for the small zoo attached. The animal collection itself is very small however exhibits have been nicely renovated for a naturalistic look. Animals range from river otters to native birds to eels and a bobcat. Everything being under one roof makes it great for rainy days. Most of the museum is dedicated to six year old science and under. Everything is very hands on and even animal exhibits have great viewing opportunities for little ones. Without small children, I would recommend skipping this museum. Although cute and well kept up, the zoo itself is not enough reason to visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JWhyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    82
    37
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Museum AND Preschool”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I 1st went to the Boonshoft as a young kid. I hadn't been back until we had our girls. This is an amazing facility with so much to do for kids and adults of all ages. My family loves the Boonshoft and we've had passes now for 4+ years in a row. We have even enrolled our girls in the Preschool at the Boonshoft. It is amazing. The staff is great and very helpful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
233 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“My kids loved it there.”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Kids are grown now, but grandkids will be taken there soon. We always had a membership until the kids grew up and left home. I love the interactive displays they always have and the peopl ethere are great. Fun giftshop too, a great place to get kids gifts!

Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Traveled all over the world and I must say that this museum is average. Dayton needs to take educating it's youth more seriously. Boston, Indy, Dallas have awesome Children Museums. We need to catch up. Overall a good place to take your child on "Snow Days"

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank richpmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the Best Kid-Friendly Places on Earth!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Lots of hands-on exhibits to keep the little ones interested, a recently renovated planetarium now called The Dome (where they not only show stars, but also 3D movies), an indoor zoo, and the list keeps going on!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boonshoft Museum of Discovery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing