We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Hampton I've ever stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Hampton I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of Hampton Inns, but this one is the best. Room was spotless, bed was great, bathroom was clean and pretty modern. Breakfast was on the higher end of what I expect at a Hampton. The only issue was that checking in, there was only one front desk clerk and she was a little swamped. Despite that, the staff was very friendly. Lots of restaurants nearby make it easy to find food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    119
    39
    16
    10
See reviews for
146
91
33
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having stayed at a Hampton Inn on previous occasions, there were no surprises at this location in terms of quality, speed of check-in, or prices. The location was okay, very close to the I-75, so access was easy. It is located along a hotel/restaurant strip, so there was lots to choose from for dinner. Breakfast was reasonable and simple. We came for the pool more than anything else. Unfortunately, construction standards have changed and the floors had far more flex in this location than in any other we've stayed at. Anyone who walked on their heels made a reverberating THUD, and we could hear our upstairs neighbours walking around. We did our best to walk on our toes so as not to announce ourselves.

The pool was nice and warm, we had it to ourselves. It was a bit murky in terms of underwater visibility. One should be able to see the far end of the pool 40 feet away underwater. It has depth ranging from 3'-5', so kids can easily swim or stand. There were lots of fresh towels as well.

One of the elevators was out of service, but the other elevator came quickly and was almost always empty.

The care taken in graphics for everything from the room numbers to the hillarious coffee labels shows a good corporate culture. The staff were all friendly, pleasant and welcoming. No surprises here. A touch expensive though.... the same furnishings and better floors can be had at the Best Western in the southern part of Dayton off the 675, but for restaurants and an indoor pool, this place is good.

Room Tip: There isn't much of a view to the north, other than looking into the pool and guest rooms of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper Pike, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

As many have noted, it's clean and comfortable, with no surprises. The WiFi works well and the desk in the room is set up well for work and recharging devices (three power outlets). In contrast to the Sheraton I was at the night before, the room also had ample lighting for work. Breakfast was good. Like many places, walls are not sound-proof, so earplugs could be good to pack.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice place, room was very clean. Staff very nice. Numerous places to eat nearby. Wifi good enough to watch movie on Netflix. Would stay here again.

Hampton Inn's are my hotel of choice for business travel. Matress wasn't quite as comfortable as normal, but I was sore from driving all day, so that may have been me.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank honaker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I always stay here when I am in Dayton. It is clean, friendly and efficient. The price is
a good value for a clean room and a free breakfast. Lots of restaurants in the area.
It is close to the highway. I have rarely stayed at a Hampton that was not a great
hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GolferMassillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Under normal circumstances I would provide high ratings to this particular location. The rooms were clean, service was friendly and location was conviently located. The one major issue was that there was some construction going on in the lobby. The workers on several occasions parked in front of the main entrance. This should really have been advertised/announced on the web site before. As a Hilton Diamond member this is unacceptable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I am so sorry for the construction issues you experienced while you stayed with us. Your comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention.

As you could tell we are currently going through renovations and I sincerely apologize if we caused you any inconveniences.

Again, please accept my apologies and hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just like most Hampton Inns, great for a quick stop on a road trip. The breakfast buffet was good and well staffed. The room was clean although the toilet paper holder fell off of the cabinet. The rooms seem a bit dated but that was not why we were there.

Overall a good place to stop. Great location for access to highway with no noticeable road noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomatoVodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
I just wanted to say thanks for your recent stay here at our hotel! I’m so glad you were able to experience our warm Hamptonality. We looks to reviews such as these when looking to improve our on-property experience. Thank you for your feedback and we can’t wait to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dayton
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Dayton North
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Dayton North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
Address: 7043 Miller Lane, Dayton, OH 45414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dayton
#4 Family Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia Hotel Dayton
Hampton Inn And Suites Dayton-Vandalia
Hampton Inn Dayton
Dayton Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing