We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pine Club a Presidential Choice”
Review of Pine Club

Pine Club
Ranked #14 of 761 Restaurants in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pine Club a Presidential Choice”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Best steaks and overall food. I have been going there over 45 yrs and have never been disappointed in quality, quantity,value and service. There's no reservations and no credit cards My gold standard for steak restaurants

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DOContheloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    104
    78
    42
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio, USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Best Steak, But You'll Wait!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Pine Club is a renowned steakhouse in Dayton, Ohio and for that matter in the state! They take no reservations, ever! Even George Bush's Secret Service men had to make the wait before he came in to have a steak. It really is all about the meat they serve because the side salad is little more than iceberg lettuce with a bit of carrot shredded on the top. The salt sticks (bread) and onion rings are other things you won't find anywhere else. They are also known for their stewed tomatoes so if you are a fan, you must try them! As other reviewers said, bring cash as they don't take credit cards. The decor is the same as it has been since it opened and we believe why it is so successful. The wait in the bar is always expected and we are miffed if we get seated too soon because 'that' is part of the Pine Club experience. The hostesses are the same two women for the last 40+ years, they don't take names or give out pagers, they just come and get you when it is time to be seated. Don't ask me how they know who you are? If waiting to eat is a pet peeve, don't even bother to go unless you get there when they open. If it is after a University of Dayton basketball game or a holiday, you can expect to wait ..... A long time even!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank malowe701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You can find better”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Everyone raved about the place and it was its exclusiveness that a president running for office had tried to get in(Bush) that led us here but will not go back.
Overly priced meal definately and the steak was good but the price on it was way overinflated.
Live in wisconsin and I could name a number of places there that have better quality of a meal for half the price.I'm sure you are paying for the history of the place as well.You could also tell that it was a smoking place at one time that had to change over with the times but it could use a little cleaning...Also cramped in the booths where we ate and we are not overly big people.
Bottom line is I think a person could do better for the money.
PS. ,i would say the waitress was very attentive but had to run many times for us because the water glasses were too small to quench our thirsts.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti4580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What's not to love?”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Awesome steakhouse. Crowded little hideaway with a the best cuts of meat I've seen in a long time. It feels lie the kind of place Sinatra would visit. No reservations, so we drank wine at the bar for quite a bit. Worth the wait believe me. The bread looks great but skip it. You'll want to save room for the meat and sides. No reservations and no credit cards (hmmm), so stuff your wallet. They do take checks with several IDs and/or your first born. Yum!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place to great a phenomenal steak!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

I am a frequent guest at the Pine Club and a member. Almost every time I am in Dayton we eat at the Pine Club. Everything they have is great. I have never had a bad meal. Filets are excellent along with the lamb chops. Keep in mind, no credit cards, cash only or you need to be a member and they bill you. You will not be disappointed. Atmosphere is still 70ish so not the best but not horrible. Food is excellent and over comes the atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pine Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing