We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets this far inland.”

Jay's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 760 Restaurants in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Jay's Seafood Restaurant has been family owned and operated for 41 years. Specializing in fresh seafood, steaks and fine wine at reasonable prices. Our story is rich in history. During the period ranging into the late 1800's, Dayton was one of the leading areas in the nation for flour milling. One of these mills, located on the Miami Erie Canal, was known as the Joseph Kratochwill Dayton Corn and Grist Mill. This building was constructed in the 1850's. Ladies and Gentlemen, tonight you are dining in the former Dayton Corn and Grist Mill.. In 1882, James Jacob Ritty opened the Pony House Restaurant. He commissioned wood carvers from Barney and Smith Car Works to turn 5,400 pounds of Honduras Mahogany into a bar. The fruit of their labors is the bar you now see standing in Jay's. Join us seven nights a week for a great dining experience
Troy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“As good as it gets this far inland.”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you want good seafood then I would recommend this establishment. It's not fresh, and it's not high end quality. It is however the best your going to find this far inland.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelinhoboTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    82
    37
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best in Dayton!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Their food and service is always the best. My wife and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary and our 34th Anniversary at Jay's with many visits in between.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OhioMarine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adult night out!!! One of my favorites......”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Family owned and Dayton is proud to have them here....Wonderful food, atmosphere and wine .... My roomate and I in our early 20's use to save our money so, once a month we would go and treat ourselves at this wonderful place. 20+ years later.... It's still a treat. :) and "Bob" our favorite Bartender.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville,Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our diners club visited Jay's in October, 4 couples and I chose the restaurant. We were very disappointed the service was poor very slow,the table and location of seating was not good. A couple of us got the beef filet and it was very good but the salmon was undercooked and not up to par everybody was disappointed and sadly we probably will not return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Good food, a little pricey, nicely decorated. Service was a little slow. Overall good experience. I would go back if I could afford it again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NTW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jay's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jay's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing