We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great brunch”
Review of Lily's Bistro

Lily's Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Lily's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 753 Restaurants in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Independently owned "nice dining:" great food, friendly service, creative bar program in an un-stuffy atmosphere. Food, cocktails, beers, and wines change to reflect midwestern seasons with a focus on eclectic american and high end comfort food.
Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Visited a friend during the holidays while in town and she suggested Lilly's Bistro. The food was fantastic and everything on the menu sounded good. The cocktail menu was so inventive. I opted for the special which was a frittata with goat cheese, tomato and bacon with a Bibb salad and their home made Greek yogurt dressing. The atmosphere was great for a Saturday late brunch. Would love to go back to try the dinner menu sometime.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abreeze B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    46
    17
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing fall dinner with drinks!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We went for a romantic dinner, and sat in the bar area. We ordered drinks and the bartender came over and explained the process behind creating the particular drink my husband had ordered. The drinks were well crafted and well thought out, not your thrown together cocktail. We each ordered a fall entree which were amazing. I had a apple cider glazed pork chop. It was amazing. We split chocolate cake. everything was amazing!! We will return for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachelmae83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Some good; some bad”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Five of us went on a Friday night, 9:00 (we had a reservation). Beautiful night in July (what a surprise) and they seated us on the patio. Lovely! But, very slow service. I had the special (red trout, perfectly cooked; asparagus; fingerling potatoes; and grapefruit sections -- all very tasty with a pretty presentation). My sister had a Nicoise salad as her entree; it only had 3 very tiny bits of tuna on it. Two friends ordered the angel hair pasta, cherry tomatoes and pesto. It came with only 2 cherry tomatoes. Both said it was completely tasteless and watery. One only ate a few bites and left the rest; the other tried to spice it up with lots of pepper but that didn't help. She also had ordered the scallops on hers. She got 2 smallish scallops ($6) which were VERY gritty. Comments to the guy who cleared the plates (our server didn't get around to asking us how our dinners were until we were finished), and eventually our server, only elicited a "Oh, that's too bad." No compensation was offered. Goodbye, Lily's!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
149 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“New in the Oregon District”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Lily's Bistro is the second restaurant in the Oregon District to be opened by the Mendenhall family. The other one being Blind Bob's, a bar and grill.
Lily's is a fine dining experience with an ambitious menu. There is a dining room, where the tables looked to be a bit close together. Tho, on the day we were there, everyone was on one of the 3 separate, wonderful patios. There is also a separate room with the bar and tables. They like to tout their creative cocktails. One of us had the jalapeno basil margarita which had plenty of jalapeno and basil flavor. No salt on the rim. Like other reviews we saw, we thought it was too watered down. The other two of us chose from their list of craft/imported beers.
One of us ordered the Ohio nachos, housemade potato chips, creamy gouda afredo, melted blue cheese and scallions. $7 The potato chips are delicate and tend to get sogged down toward the end but we did not find this a problem. They were tasty. Some reviews didn't like that aspect. Maybe Lily's could try it with the chips served at Blind Bobs, a thicker, heartier cut of chip. But we did like them as they were.
The same person ordered the surf and turf. This consisted of soy glazed pork belly and seared scallops with wilted spinach, pickled cauliflower and miso-mousseline sauce. $24
He thought it was quite tasty. He had never had pork belly before so could not make a comparison.
The second person had the raw shaved kale with apple, dried cherries, and goat cheese with a lemon-thyme vinaigrette $9 She liked the ample salad tho wished they would maybe wilt the kale. She also had the angel hair pasta with leeks, asparagus, spinach, and english peas in a creamy gouda alfredo topped with breadcrumbs.$16 As a vegetarian, this was one of two entrees she could chose from, the other a mushroom ragout. On this dish she wanted more of the gouda flavor.
I had the same entree and thought it was quite good. For the salad, I had the chopped salad, with orange segments, sugar snap peas, fennel, mushrooms and asparagus tossed in a ginger-miso vinaigrette $10. This was a large salad and full of flavor.

Lily's has been open for only about a month. They will need to be working out any kinks and finding out what people like or dont like. We found the wait staff to be attentive when we were there, the food interesting, and the patio ambiance pleasant, despite the nearby train that went thru! One of the patios will be allowing well-behaved dogs to accompany their owners. Parking is available across the street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Poodletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lily's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Lily's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing