We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not a bad buffet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ichiban Seafood Buffet - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ichiban Seafood Buffet
Restaurant details
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not a bad buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Fair amount of variety, sushi is better then most buffets. Nothing stands out that makes me want to go back over and over, but never had anything I didn't like.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveR527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    4
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not much seafood and not hot food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was expecting a wide variety of seafood on the buffet. There were crab legs, a few types of seafood and then the typical buffet food for a Chinese buffet. They did have a cold seafood buffet area but that is not something to my liking. We didn't try the hibachi which may have saved the meal. For the price, it was not worth going. First time and last time going there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ghtester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Many choices, good family restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stopped in for dinner recently and was impressed by the many choices. We did enjoy most of the dishes we tried and some like the sushi were quite interesting.
They offer a family atmosphere with TVs located around the large dining area. The service was fine for a buffet.
I thought the price for dinner was a little high compared to other buffets in the area but I think we will return especially if we find a coupon or special offer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DebM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
2,482 reviews
1,621 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,789 helpful votes
“We liked the shellfish (all offerings,) and the squid is recommended.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Ichaban Seafood Buffet is located in Washington Plaza on the north side of S.R. 725 east of the Dayton Mall.

Ichaban Seafood Buffet replaces the former Hometown Buffet, and the new owners have taken great care in remodeling the restaurant. All features of the former Hometown Buffet have been gutted, and a new handsome Chinese restaurant has emerged.

Because of location there is abundant parking, and Ichaban Seafood Buffet is highly visible.

We do not know how to account for the previous two conflicting reviews; however, it is difficult for any Chinese Buffet to compare with a nice Chinese restaurant.

A key to good Chinese Buffet is to arrive at a time when the buffet opens. Most buffet food will suffer from long waits on the hot trays.

Ichaban Seafood Buffet compares very favorably with other nearby Chinese Buffets, and the tariffs vary from lunch to dinner and on the weekends. In our view the fare is appropriate for the tariff.

Ichaban Seafood Buffet as the name suggests offers a variety of seafood. Often whole fish will be tasteless on a hot table, and it may be wise to pass on some food selections. Ichaban Seafood Buffet does offer the expected traditional Chinese beef and chicken dishes.

Ichaban Seafood Buffet offers a great hibachi grill, and the hibachi grill provides fresh dishes. The sushi is fine, and is prepared at a sushi station.

Our party of four passed on several items, and found several great choices. The soups are a plus, and the dessert table is ok.

We liked the shellfish (all offerings,) and the squid is recommended. The young servers provide constant attention. Wine and beer are available.

One very positive indicator was that the diners were often between 50 and 60% Chinese, and in talking with some of the Chinese diners, we found that they rated Ichaban Seafood Buffet very highly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SavantIII_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bad!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Terrible food and way over priced!!! We went there on a Sunday afternoon. They had their weekend pricing because they had "more better food"! The items were in discernible. Ninety per cent of the food we picked up was not edible. Way over priced.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing