We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good chinese food”

Shen's Szechuan & Sushi
Ranked #51 of 761 Restaurants in Dayton
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good chinese food”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

It was nice to escape the chains and eat in a nice Chinese restaurant not far from our hotel. Nice atmosphere. As other reviewers said, service is slow. Very friendly server and the (large) dining room seemed fairly empty so not sure why service was slow. But as long as u r not rushed, I would recommend it. Tasty food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    1
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Chinese cuisine, great sushi.”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Very good food, great atmosphere. Excellent sushi, full bar. Not conveniently locate, but worth the trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BadScooter67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Shensational”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We travel 45 minutes to Shens. The food is fresh, well prepared and we love the atmosphere. While we like some meals better than others we have never had a bad meal at Shen's. Service is excellent. We have had both the Sushi and regular menu orders, both have been excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRKelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great gem”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Shen's never disappoints! Excellent food, excellent service. I've had both good from the sushi menu as well as the Chinese side and have never had a item that wasn't excellent. You can't go wrong here!

Helpful?
Thank Jmansmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodlettsville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I went to Shen's after passing it while running and being impressed by the building, then checking the reviews. My first impression on walking in was very positive. The staff was friendly and the decor excellent. In ordered the "Birds Nest" for $18.00, more than I wanted to spend but looking forward to a great meal, after reading the reviews.

I was very disappointed in this dish, it was supposed to have crabmeat, shrimp & scallops. There was no crabmeat in it and the "scallops" were actually sharkmeat. I had to cut the "scallops" with a knife they were so tough. If you want real scallops try the shrimp & scallops across the highway at Outback, they're the real deal, and outstanding.

In won't go back to Shen's, I felt like I got totally ripped off. This dish may have been worth $6.00 or $7.00 tops but nowhere close to $18.00.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TomOuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shen's Szechuan & Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Shen's Szechuan & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing