We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we went hungry!”
Review of 2nd Street Market

2nd Street Market
Ranked #16 of 62 things to do in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Local growers, bakers, culinary specialists, and artisans fill this charming historic freight house. Reminiscent of European markets, it's alive with vendors, people and activity during market hours year-round.
Morgantown, wv
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wish we went hungry!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great place to spend some time. Wonderful food, crafts, specialty items. We got cheese, incredible olive oil, breads, coffees. What a nice surprise!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank vidulichm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    26
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury UK
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great spot to go on chilly Saturday mornings in Dayton”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nice place to wander around on Saturday mornings in Dayton. I doubt many of the vendors make much of a profit because of the generous portions and low prices but they seem to love what they do. Bring cash or use the onsite ATM. Very few vendors accept credit cards. Free parking and easy access.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wright_Family_of_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So much fun”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

New to the Dayton area so decided to check out the market, and boy was it a good decision! Locally-grown flowers and produce, hand-made (and eco-friendly!) soaps and lotions, fresh-baked bread, delicious food already prepared, household items, jewelry and clothes, live music on Saturdays, and on and on. I will definitely be visiting the market as often as my bank account will allow! :) Over 40 vendors so tons to see.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very impressed with this market....”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We sure did not give ourselves enough time to fully enjoy this attraction. The many offerings were more than we anticipated to find. Very nice market shelter. Great to see a huge crowd on a Saturday morning. Many vendors offered breakfast and lunch options on site. Order and grab a table to eat at. Huge variety of vendors. I had hoped to see more vendors selling produce, but surprised to see vendors selling items beyond produce: body products, ethnic foods, jewelry, gardening gifts, etc.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveWorkCreateToledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great market”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Getting crowded due to its popularity. Watch what you but some of the vegetables are NOT locally grown of that is important to you. 'Caffeine' is a great spot for nice cup of coffee. Good variety of vendors. Music on some/most Saturdays.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrdayoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2nd Street Market also viewed

 

Been to 2nd Street Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing