We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique look into the past”

SunWatch Indian Village/Archaeological Park
Ranked #13 of 61 things to do in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique look into the past”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We definitely enjoy going here (especially for the flute festival) but don't expect to spend the whole day or even more then an hour or so.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lwilliamson0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    37
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

indoor museum and outdoor...see how the early Indians of Dayton,oh lived! nice event in the summer when they have a celebration powwow!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairborn Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you enjoy history, you'll love SunWatch”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

SunWatch is an authentic Native American village recreated close to the banks of the Great Miami River. Very educational and very well maintained. Makes a great afternoon field trip!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank daytripper102016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really Cool Educational experience as a kid”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I went here with my class in 4th grade and I remember having lots of fun. They have recreated some of the indian huts that they would have lived in back then and it was neat to see this. It was a neat experience and I would definitely go back again sometime if I can.

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew_Correll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“For Budding Archaeologists”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Take your kids to learn about early Native Americans. Sadly it needs a facelift (Come on, Dayton, spend some tax dollars here). Good re-creation of stone age village and lots of artifacts, but not to the level of the Cahokia Mounds. Go in spring or fall, before it gets hot and muggy. Will take about 2 hours.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Motherof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SunWatch Indian Village/Archaeological Park also viewed

 

Been to SunWatch Indian Village/Archaeological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing