We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Dayton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ashtabula OH
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

CI&S Dayton South is a remarkable property. Everything is clean and looks new and updated, including our room. As you enter, the lighting is dim - I suppose to make you relax. Even the room lighting is subdued - again I guess to be relaxing. I didn't mind it, but I did turn on all the lights in the room! The room has enough towels and toiletries and the toiletries are name brand, which I appreciated. The TV is a flat screen and works well. The bathroom is spacious and the tub is spacious. As usual, there is never enough water pressure to suit. My only complaint about our room is that the air conditioner was loud. My husband ended up just turning it off. It works fine, but loud. The beds are firm, but not rock hard. I'm sure they are fine if not very good for most people. We are used to a water bed at home, so we tossed around because of that.
Help yourself to cookies and snack bars all day long. There is also a selection of coffees and teas all day long. Thanks!
The breakfast is exceptional for a free breakfast. The egg and sausage selection varied the two nights we were there.
We stayed on the second floor - there is a lounge there that is very nice. We helped ourselves to the magazines and books available to borrow. Again, thanks, that is a nice touch.
This hotel is easy to find - easy off and easy on.
I will stay here again if in the area.
we did not use the pool, but it was being used and looked fine.
we used the business center, which is one desk with one computer set up only.
we did not use the fitness room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifesabeach39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine_jendrusik, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We want to thank you for your kind words on your recent visit with us. It is always our pleasure to have all of the guests feel like they are at home. If your travels bring you back to Dayton in the future we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    78
    18
    10
    13
See reviews for
136
47
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Had a few problems checking in due to a computer glitch but Linda was very professional and handled the situation as best she could. Duty manager appeared to be off site though so she had to make some frantic phone calls.

very nice atmosphere and lovely complimentary cookies. Breakfast was very good and the chef Crystal seemed to enjoy serving her delicious meals.

Will definitely be staying here and at other CIS.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rozzi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine_jendrusik, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We appreciate your feedback from your recent stay. We love to make everybody feel like they are at home away from home. We hope that if your travels bring you back to Dayton , Ohio that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

I took my two granddaughters to the Country Inn and Suites Dayton South for a girls night before going back to school. What a delightful small hotel!

The room was immaculate, the bathroom even more so, and the beds comfy. The breakfast was the best I've ever seen in a hotel. There were waffles you make yourself, scrambled eggs, chicken patties, biscuits, oatmeal with wonderful toppings, frest fruit and berries, numerous bread/muffin/bagel choices, real butter, syrup, juices and coffee. Coffee, tea, and cookies are available all day long.

There were plenty of towels in the rooms for us. The pool looked inviting, although we did not have time to use it. The location is close to plenty of shopping, restaurants, movie theatres, mini golf, and bowling alleys.

When in this area, don't be afraid to book this hotel. I like a clean hotel as well as the next guest, and this one is!

Room Tip: There are two floors, so if you don't want to hear other travellers, choose an upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpmaster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine_jendrusik, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words and the recognition to the staff. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We hope that the next time you are in the Dayton area we can welcome you back to the Country Inn and Suites Dayton South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Love the sauna! Friendly front desk staff, clean rooms and convenient location. The beds are comfortable and we slept great. The rooms have a nice desk space with a comfy chair for business travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diehardlionsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine_jendrusik, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience; it is our guests' reviews that allows us to continue to grow. It was a pleasure to host you while you were in Dayton. We hope for the opportunity in the future to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Bummer to find out at 11:30 pm after a 14 hour drive. Totally rude staff.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RZDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine_jendrusik, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All feedback is valuable to us so that we can perfect our guests’ experiences. I do aplogize for the misunderstanding concerning the pet. We have not been a pet friendly hotel since 2011 . I can reassure you that I will be going over with the staff our non pet friendly policy. Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope this experience does not deter you from staying with Country Inn and Suites in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc MI
Level Contributor
309 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We were traveling and had stopped by another CI&S and could not get a parking place due to a party at a bar on site, and called this site. Upon arriving, the staff knew we were stressed out and got us to a quiet room where we had a good night sleep. Yes the doors are not all the way to the ground. We put a towel in front of it because I like the dark. Breakfast was good, and I enjoyed the added touch of tea selections and breakfast bars for a quick snack. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine_jendrusik, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your review ! We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was an overnight stay during our travels and we arrived near the end of dinner hour. The staff were very friendly and advised us that the food in their dining area was going fast if we planned on eating there tonight. We dropped off our luggage in our room and headed back down to the dining area for a very nice hour of good food and drinks compliments of the hotel as well as good conversation with other guests as well as staff. The room was spacious & clean and the breakfast the next morning was quite good. The only negative comment I could make is that the free internet was down while we were there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcfaddenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dayton hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
14.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton-Centerville
1.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dayton South/Miamisburg
16.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
Address: 8277 Yankee St, Dayton, OH 45458-1807 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dayton
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dayton
#4 Family Hotel in Dayton
#5 Business Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Dayton South Hotel Dayton
Country Inn And Suites Dayton South
Dayton Country Inn
Country Inn Dayton South
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing