We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Museum”

The Wright Cycle Company Complex
Ranked #6 of 63 things to do in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brooklawn, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Solid Museum”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This isn't the most dramatic museum - there aren't a lot of artifacts, and the actual cycle shop is long gone. That said, the Park Service does as good a job as possible within the limitations to present a clear and complete history of the site and of the Wright Brothers' accomplishments. There is a brief movie, a nice museum presentation in the one-time location of the Wrights' print shop, and a tour of the recreation of the Cycle Shop.

One of the other reviewers called the Complex a gem. They are absolutely right. And, with the other stops on the Aviation Trail (and the Dunbar site as well), it's a true treasure.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KJE1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    67
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granite City, IL
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We just HAD to see this since we've seen almost everything else connected to the Wright Brothers. It was a bit dissapointing to know that the original bldg. was purchased by Henry Ford and moved to Michigan. If we'd bothered to read about the bike shop on the internet before our trip we would have known that. However, we did get to see the original LOCATION of the shop and the remade shop was fixed up very nice. One of the park rangers gave us a tour or the shop. There is a very nice museum run by the national park service next door. The shop is tiny and we were a bit worried about parking our new motorcycle in this inner city neighborhood, but everything was fine.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, Sc, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It is amazing what the Wright brothers did!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

These guys are my heros! What fantastic work they did! The bicycle shop isn't their last one and there are only a few Wright artifacts there, all on loan from the Museum of the Air Force nearby. But, it is still worth going there just to be where they once were. This site was apparently rediscovered in the last 20-30 years and the building restored. The shop is part of a bigger venue run by the NPS, including a museum with info about the area (a recreated store), the Wrights and Dunbar.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 21degree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
2,785 reviews
855 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4,162 helpful votes
“Great Dayton History”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Really, this is a "Gem" that families and adults should visit.
The artifacts and history are explained by an expert staff. This is a great "inservice"experience for corporations and educators.
The staff is highly qualified and has detailed knowledge of the many artifacts and the failures and successes of Dayton's two very prominent citizens.

Parking is plentiful, and this is an impressive visit for our out of town guests. The complex is well designed, and we are glad this property did not migrate to Michigan.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SavantIII_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wright Cycle Company Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing