We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local coffee”
Review of Press

Press
Ranked #5 of 19 Coffee & Tea in Dayton
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good local coffee”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

What I liked: The quality of coffee. Price is pretty reasonable for what they serve, and because as a local, independent business. The establishment is quite clean. The baristas are somewhat quiet, yet friendly (but friendlier with more of the established, repeat customers, in which they seemed to know by name). The basic coffee was okay; but the flavored specialties (such as some Indian-spiced cappuccino?) is what sets them apart from other cafes.

What I didn't quite like: The assumption that you know what each type of coffee is & what it's characteristics is before ordering. It's almost intimating (and maybe that's why some other reviewer called it 'pretentious') with the over-simplified menu with just the list of names. Also, I'm more used to 'cozy-like' cafe atmospheres where there is more tables then solo, bar-stool set ups. This has a zen-like minimalism, feels airy yet empty. Not completely bad, just very different.

I didn't try the muffins and slices of bread available, but might the next time I swing by.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ajaa957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moraine, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Dayton!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Best coffee, hands down!! Service is a little slow, but worth the wait (and I do not say that lightly). They also have chai, tea, and nice muffins and cookies. mmmm....good!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Coffee!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I can't say enough about the coffee here. It is worth the wait to get your coffee done right. and the prices aren't bad either. Love the look and feel of this place - has a strong point of view. I liked the art that was available for sell, and the upstairs loft area.
The service is right down to business - not a lot of smiles - a lot of concentration and every time I went - which was everyday I was in Dayton - it was busy.
We did try to place an order for afternoon coffee but there is no phone listed. We ended up going and ordering 6 coffees at the shop. All meeting progress stopped until our coffees came back - but it was still worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlissPriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
1,266 reviews
691 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
“Love the coffee, mildly irritated by the attitude”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Let me say: I love your coffee and your attention to brewing detail. Also, we will definitely stop by again to get coffee here. But please consider dropping the arrogance a notch or two. If you feel the need to hate Sbucks, North Face or republicans; more power to you, just tone it down or look around before waxing philosophically. Even saying that, yep we'll be back. Recommend the French Press into a real mug in the bar.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good coffee served with a side of pretension.”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I enjoyed the coffee, but I found the barista to be a touch pretentious.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachelmae83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Press also viewed

 

Been to Press? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing