We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice addition to the Oregon district”

Roost Modern Italian
Reserve with OpenTable
Roost Modern Italian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 760 Restaurants in Dayton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“a nice addition to the Oregon district”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you're missing the Side Bar, check out Roost in the old Blue Moon space. A little more modest, but very creative, in the same vein as Side Bar. A nice wine list with a lot of by-the-glass selections. Good food at reasonable prices. Be careful where you park - use their valet service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank markjchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    40
    19
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“eveningout”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I were at the Roost for a special dinner. We sat at a small table for two. The noise in the restaurant was so loud we couldn't have a conversation without repeating everything we said. We left even before we finished our wine. Didn't even look at the dessert menu because we were in such a hurry to leave. The entrees were ok, a little expense for a enviroment where you can't have a conversation without yelling. Spoke with the owner about the noise. She responded she has had more compliants about the noise than anything else. Will not recommend or go to again. Very disappointing, expensive dinner!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 5mamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ohio
Level Contributor
142 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very eclectic menu, high quality food”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Roost declares itself an italian restaurant, but is not italian in the traditional sense (no chicken parm or other similar options, no pizza). It does have a spaghetti and meatballs entree, but that is about it from a traditional perspective. However- what is offered is of very high quality, the chef certainly takes care in the food. The salads were very good- very fresh, the appetizers were also very well done. Check out the menu at the website to be sure it isn't too non-standard for you- but if you are a bit adventurous (for italian!) you will be happy. Roost has an outside patio for maybe 6 or 8 tables. No view (fence) but on a nice night it works nicely. Inside is pretty trendy, but very small. Overall- food is very well made, owners do a nice job (came around and said hello, saw them several times talking to folks), so I think it is worth your time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank getawayfunforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Last Minute Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I had seen the restaurant on a previous visit to the Oregon District and when my sister and brother-in-law came to town for a Sunday night it became a perfect spot to celebrate.
Wonderful attentive service, excellent wine list and great food. Love that it is small reminds of some of the best restaurants I have visited in Italy. Will be visiting again soon

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grandscru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice Sunday Dinner!”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Had a nice Sunday afternoon dinner at Roost today. It's new to us. We had a great risotto appetizer, Italian entrees and side salads. Nice wine list at various prices. Great service. It's small, so be sure to make reservations on Friday and Saturday. We plan to go back for the Sunday brunch soon!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roost Modern Italian also viewed

 

Been to Roost Modern Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing