We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to stay but hotel is in transition” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dayton Grand Hotel
Ranked #35 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay but hotel is in transition”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

I stayed at the Grand Hotel in Dayton, Ohio for two nights, on a Sunday and Monday night. The hotel is located downtown and is in an old historic building. I love old hotels. I had a pleasant stay and have to say the staff go out of their way to help you. Joy and Monty at the front desk will ensure you have a pleasant stay. My room was very spacious and clean. Bear in mind that the hotel is downtown and there isn't much in walking distance after 5pm. If you are there on a Sunday just about the entire downtown is closed. I attended a training seminar for two days at the Grand Hotel and I was pleased with the facilities(located on the lower level) and the food/beverage service. This hotel is in a transition. I hope that TripAdvisor readers will book a room at this hotel to help support it. I booked thru Priceline and got my room for two nights at $119.98. An interesting note: When Obama was President-Elect in 2008 he stayed at the Grand Hotel on the 8th floor in room 812...the staff call it the "Presidential Suite". Maybe you can book Obama's room...

Room Tip: President Obama stayed there in 2008 in room 812. Maybe you can book the "Presidential Suite&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    51
    55
    39
    85
See reviews for
49
43
30
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

When we made our reservation in May, this was a Doubletree, but not by the time we arrived in September. The change must have been recent, as there were tell tale signs of it. For example, the list of channels was torn across the top as though someone had torn off the Doubletree logo. We did not see anything that would be a problem from the change over.

The room was quite nice, the bed very comfortable. Internet was included, but not breakfast. There were nearby places to get breakfast, even on the weekend. There was an indoor pool that we did not use, looked clean, smelled like a pool, but the room was very hot. I don't know if the thermostat was set wrong, or if there was a problem.

The lobby was a little small, but adequate, not as nicely furnished as the room. The bar was not open - maybe no change over on the liquor license.

The location was down town, right across from City Hall and other business buildings.

On site parking was at no charge.

This was an okay experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the 13th floor where the pool is located. Some families allow their kids to make more noise t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladeelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

This hotel lost its Hilton contract/flag as a Doubletree. I used to work guest services and audit at the DT when it was Hilton managed and when it was purchased by a Calif franchiser.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank whitaker80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

This hotel is no longer a Doubletree property. It is now called the "Dayton Grand." It's right in the downtown area, where there's basically nothing to see or do after 5PM, unless there's a concert or show on at the nearby Schuster Center. It's an old building which has been renovated, but there are quirks. Some rooms have awful views of a rooftop or (sometimes) virtually nothing at all. Other rooms have tiny bathrooms where you might trip over the toilet on your way to the sink. Still other rooms are huge suites with two immense rooms connected by a hallway. The only ice machines are on floors 5 and 7 (the hotel is 12 stories, I think). There are no snack vending machines, only two beverage machines (same floors). And even on an upper floor, the street noise (including frequent sirens) can be annoying. One morning during my stay, guests were trapped in one of the two elevators, while everyone else waited and waited for the one (slow) working elevator.

I stayed there a couple of times when Hilton was still in charge, and once since they transferred ownership. I'm concerned that the new management is not as careful as Hilton. The "snack shop" near the front desk was amply stocked with soda, but had virtually no selection of any other snacks, either sweet, salty, or frozen. The breakfast area has been improved (it's actually now in the restaurant, rather than in a poky renovated utility room on an upper floor), but the "buffet" was never available, only a meager continental selection. (Hot food was available from a menu, however.) The maid service was sporadic: my ice bucket was never emptied, I never received clean glasses, and the sink wasn't adequately cleaned most days. This hotel needs to clean up its act or it will quickly lose whatever luster it once had.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

...and as a result of the extremely low expectations that had been set (last rating was a 1-star), we were very pleasantly surprised.

My wife and I stayed there this weekend for a wedding. It's no longer a DoubleTree flag and goes by the name of the Dayton Grand Hotel. I received an e-mail in late July indicating the change in the name but it specifically stated that there was no change in management or ownership. I work in Real Estate and typically this occurs because ownership can't keep up with Hilton/DoubleTree standards (or decides it no longer wants to) and given the economic conditions, I'm not surprised. The cost to keep a brand/flag is very expensive.

I admit that it was challenging to find the hotel at first since it currently only has signage that reads "HOTEL" at the 3rd and Ludlow intersection. The U-Haul like moving truck parked in front of the hotel was also an eye-sore and somewhat hid the valet entrance...

Lobby - short & sweet: the lobby was inviting and well kept. Good quality fixtures and decor.

Staff - the gentleman who checked us in was pleasant. We didn't have any specific requests which made the process quick and painless. Check-out was easy as well. We used the valet service and the valet charge was applied to the hotel room.

Room - Our room on the 9th floor was large (350sf?) with nice, high ceilings...Most importantly, the room was clean and unoccupied. We had a king-sized bed and there was still an overabundance of space to move around and put our things. However, the one notable downside was the cramped bathroom. It is only large enough for one person (unless the 2nd person is taking a shower). The bed & pillows were to our liking (tough to rate b/c everyone has unique sleeping preferences...). The mini-fridge is hiding under the TV... and there is a small coat-closet behind the main door with the iron and ironing board.

Overall: good value, pretty good location (if you have to stay downtown in Dayton) with good access to I-75, pleasantly surprised and generally satisfied. The valet is $10 (/day?) but I'm not sure if there are in & out privileges.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liu374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

This hotel is under new management: Hilton does not own it anymore (we had stayed there several times when it was the Double Tree).
The staff was nice, but the experience was a NIGHTMARE.
There was a problem with our reservation, we were given keys to an occupied room, our room had toe nail clippings on the floor, the bedsheets were rumpled under the top cover, and one of the two elevators did not work. That was in the first 15 minutes. Two other guests were upset at the front desk while we were there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadSavvy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We checked in at 3:30 Sat. Very friendly, very smooth. Reserved on Priceline for $52. Requested and got a King bed. Room was clean and AC was working, very comfortable. Granite in bath. Room was smaller than a typical hotel room, but it's an older building and still plenty of room for 2, not an issue. All hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Valet will take you for free anywhere within 2 miles of hotel. Very accomodating. Dropped us off for dinner, one text and picked us back up and off to our next destination. Definitely talk to the valet they know all the places to go and how best to get there. Which is a must as taxi service in Dayton is non-existent to horrible. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: ask uponn checkin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrackerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dayton hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dayton
Crowne Plaza Dayton
#12 of 45 in Dayton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
9.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marriott at the University of Dayton
5.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton Grand Hotel

Property: Dayton Grand Hotel
Address: 11 South Ludlow Street, Dayton, OH 45402 (Formerly Doubletree)
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dayton Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a beautiful and historic boutique property downtown Dayton. We are within walking distance of the Convention Center, performing arts and restaurants. If you like the outdoors, Riverscape is just a few blocks away. Enjoy the bike paths or kayak under the water fountains. We have 182 rooms, including 28 suites. Being a historic property, all the rooms are unique in shape. We also offer around 6,000 sq ft of event space for meetings, weddings, social events and military gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Dayton Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton Grand Hotel Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing