We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls' Night Out”
Review of Inn Port D'Vino

Inn Port D'Vino
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn Port D'Vino
Ranked #2 of 6 Dayton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 24, 2009

PLEASE do yourself a favor and be sure to stay at this Inn. The Hostess is most accommodating, friendly and a pure delight. The Victorian Inn itself is simply beautiful and they've updated it with modern conveniences that flow well with the structure. Our group found everything we needed and more here. I initially rented it for this event with the thought that if we so desired, we were within easy walking distance of the bars. (Historic Oregon District is but about a half block away). We had such a good time at the Inn we never entertained the notion of leaving! Most surprising of all to us was the fact that from inside the Inn, we never heard the partying occurring on the main drag. Great continental breakfast provided in the morning; bagels, cereal, yogurt, toast, fruit, juices, coffee, butter, cream cheese and jams. Our entire group of nine completely enjoyed themselves. I recommend this place unreservedly and can honestly say that if you stay at a generic hotel, you're really depriving yourself of something special.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mothershiporphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 35 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2009

Fantastic place to stay; very spacious and comfortable, with lots of well appointed and comfortable rooms and a great location. Wonderfully friendly service. This was our second visit as a family to Inn Port D'Vino; we stayed for 4 nights and could happily have stayed longer. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Dayton.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickyLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

My partner and I were on a driving tour of six states in the South-East USA. We were visiting Dayton because of the Wright Brothers connection and the USAF Museum.
As we pulled into the parking courtyard of the Inn Port we were immediately welcomed by the stunningly pretty and animated Leslie. This was in direct contrast to our welcome 24 hours earlier in Charleston, WV where we were pretty much ignored by the owner, so a big plus point here!
We occupied the Champagne Suite which was large, nicely appointed and contained everything a pair of vacationers could need although time prevented us from trying out the enormous spa bath.
As far as the location went, we had fun walking around the block where there were cafes, restaurants, bars with live music, even a 25 cent peep show (the mind boggles!).
I would not hesitate to recommend Leslie and Jeff Gonya's place and would return in a flash if eve we were passing through central Ohio.
Remember us to them - Roger and Beverley from England.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

The hosts were wonderful, the room was relaxing and there were plenty of snacks and drinks. Very good place to get away and unwind.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwsOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

My husband and I just checked out this morning after a 2 night stay for his birthday. The suite is absolutely gorgeous, I'm going to try to upload some pics later. There is a fully equipped kitchen in the rear of the suite, and we put it to good use. The king sized pillowtop bed was hard to get out of, and it was nice that you could see the flat screen tv in the living room from the bed. The hot tub was absolutely lovely. We went to a few great restaurants that were within walking distance and there were several more we didn't get a chance to try. The service was excellent, particularly considering we made the reservation at the last minute. Thanks for everything Leslie, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minasjoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

My group had a great stay! The owners are so nice & hospitable. It was great to have such a large space to ourselves. I would highly recommend it. The only downside is that there is no hot breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

What a pleasant surprise awaited us at the Inn Port D'Vino! It's one of the many older houses in the historic Oregon district. Being mid-week and off-season, we had the entire B&B to ourselves.

It is spacious with the charm of yesteryear, yet has the modern luxury of a spa bathtub (luxurious linens for bed and bath) and important off-street parking. After nine hours on the road, it was perfect! When we entered, instrumental music was playing on the radio and chandeliers glowed warmly.

Leslie, our amiable hostess, lives nearby. She and her husband provide all you need for a super-continental breakfast. The dining room has a small refrigerator, a toaster oven and a dispenser of hot and cold water.

Dayton was the half-way point of an eighteen-hour road trip, which was also the first time we traveled with our dog. We usually prefer Hampton Inns, but it is difficult to find one that permits a pet. This turned out to be to our advantage. We enjoyed the Inn Port D'Vino so much that we stayed again on our return trip. It felt like our residence in Dayton rather than an overnight place to stay. That bubble bath prepared me well for another nine hours on the road!

For those who insist on absolute perfection, I must add that this large house is still under renovation, but those things which are of major concern are just fine.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaveANiceStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dayton hotels
1.4 mi away
Marriott at the University of Dayton
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dayton
Crowne Plaza Dayton
#19 of 46 in Dayton
416 reviews
6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Dayton / Miller Ln.
4 mi away
Air View Inn
Air View Inn
#4 of 6 in Dayton
13 reviews
8.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Port D'Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Port D'Vino

Address: 22 Brown St, Dayton, OH 45402-2827
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dayton
Price Range: $126 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn Port D'Vino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1876 historic home converted to guesthouse accommodations. All units with private bath. +Walking distance to dozens of restaurants, shops, and galleries in the Oregon District. +3 blocks from the Dayton Convention Center. +Less than 1/2 mile from Downtown Dayton and 5/3 Field. +Less than 2 miles from the University of Dayton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Inn Port D'Vino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Port D'Vino Dayton, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing