We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rolling with the punches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dayton
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Dayton
Reviewed November 23, 2013

There was an event to be held in Dayton, Ohio on Thursday Nov. 21. The room was overflowing and it was clear that we had exceeded the maximum for the room. The organizers contacted the Crowne Plaza Dayton and they quickly agreed to shift it to one of their ballrooms. We crossed the street and the event got underway in little over a half an hour. It was a very pleasant evening and I have to give kudos to the staff at the Crowne for saving the evening

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear John M,
I truly appreciate you taking the time to give us your review. We were glad to able to accomodate your group. We've got a really great group of employees here and I'll be sure to share your 'kudos' with them!

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 417 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

They graciously accommodated our last minute change in plans and let a group of almost 200 use their ballroom - thank you! - While there we wandered up to the rooftop bar/bistro and were enchanted by the view. A lovely place to have a drink and listen to the piano player while watching the city sparkle below.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank haapapuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear haapapuro,
Thank you for your review! I'm glad you were able to visit our rooftop restaurant View 162 while you were at the hotel. It's one of Dayton's best kept secrets. I appreciiate the time you took to give us the 5 star review. I hope we can be of service to you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Had to book a seminar in their ballroom at the last minute, and the management could not have been more accommodating and friendly. Great customer service! Would definitely use their facility again, given its location downtown near the Oregon District and Synergy Kitchens.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kudamm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear kudamm99,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your great review. We are extremely excited about the things going on here in Dayton and Synergy Kitchen is such a great opportunity for the Miami Valley's talented food entrepreneurs. I hope we are able to help again in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We had almost 200 people excitedly waiting for PechaKucha presentations (Google it!) in a nearby venue... but that was way too many for the space we had. The Crowne Plaza showed their commitment to the community by generously offering to host us in their ballroom on about five minutes notice. Very classy!

Also, their top-floor bar is an often overlooked night spot. Good drink selection, nice atmosphere, and great views.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

It was our pleasure to help! Our community is thriving and it's exciting to be part of such a talented group. Thank you taking the time to stop by Trip Advisor and give us a review. I hope we are able to be of service again in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Crown Plaza Dayton does not live up to the name of previous Crown Plaza hotels I have stayed in. It is conveniently in downtown Dayton, across the street and connected by a land bridge to the convention center, and connected to a covered parking garage (free with validation).

The hotel has a dated and tired appearance in the lobby, the mezzanine, the elevators, the stairs, and the waiting areas of each floor.

When we arrived at 9 AM, there was only one empty room available. On my reservation, I had requested a room on a high floor away from the elevator. The room we were given was fairly close to the elevator. However, the floor was quiet and for the two nights we stayed there, we were not bothered by hallway noise. Despite this, the doors are thin and the hallway conversations are audible.

Inside, the rooms are comfortable, large, and modern. We had all the amenities we wanted. The full-sized beds were just the right firmness and the linen clean.

Around 10 PM I decided to shower and go to bed. Perhaps there was a reason why the room was not filled; the shower handle had completely broken off. I called maintenance to come. The maintenance man was so kind and efficient, even though he had to go downstairs three times to get all the equipment he needed. We did get a working shower that night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymousfortwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear anonymousfortwayne,
I appreciate your review. It was very detailed and this helps us to know what areas we are doing great in and what area's we can use improvement. I am glad that you found your room comfortable, large, and modern and your bed and amenities pleasing. Please accept my apology that you needed a repair of your shower. I hope that you will give us another opportunity should your travels bring you back to Dayton.

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Upon arriving after an 8-hour drive my friends and I were greeted by Robert one of the hotel's valets. He provided FULL SERVICE from taking our bags to parking our car and then providing shuttle service to the local pharmacy. When he found out our bed was broken he quickly contacted hotel management and maintenance staff. John from maintenance immediately moved usinto a new room and Jordan, the manager, came to apologize and brought our new room keys.

Because of Robert, John, and Jordan an otherwise pain-the-butt experience was nothing more than a slight inconvenience.

We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Book a room on the 12th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Crowne Plaza Dayton, we appreciate the 5 stars. Our staff has worked hard to make us a hotel that Dayton is proud of. We truly appreciate our guests' feedback and I am eager to pass your words along to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I had just gone for a conference which was located in this hotel. Loved the rooms, so clean, huge soft, warm beds! also everything was very well cleaned - and we were provided with more towels then we possibly needed! the staff was super friendly, and went out of their way to go above and beyond to get us American candy that we had never experience before! Thank you to C.C Smith and to the staff at the hotel for their help. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful too. We had an issue with the shuttle bus being late but that was made well after with the professional service! The bar was beautiful and gave us a nice view of Dayton. If you need to be or are in Dayton Ohio - this is the best hotel in the city to be in!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shekky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear shekky,
What a delightful review, we greatly appreciate the time you took to stop by TripAdvisor. I will be sure to tell CC and the staff that they helped to make your stay a great experience. I am glad you had a chance to visit our rooftop restaurant with it's panoramic views. I always tell our guests that you can see places you've never seen before without ever leaving the hotel! We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dayton hotels
1.4 mi away
Marriott at the University of Dayton
5.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
7.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Dayton South/Miamisburg
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dayton

Address: 33 E 5th St, Dayton, OH 45402-2485
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dayton
Price Range: $115 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dayton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the vibrant energy of downtown Dayton when you stay at the luxurious Crowne Plaza. Located adjacent to the Dayton Convention Center and just minutes from the Dayton International Airport and Wright-Patterson AFB, our newly remodeled, full-service hotel offers the perfect combination of chic styling, total comfort and convenience right here in the "Birthplace of Aviation." Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy our stylish guestrooms, spacious suites and fabulous service from our welcoming staff. Stay with us and discover your perfect home away from home right here in downtown Dayton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Dayton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing