We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was an experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dayton
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
“It was an experience!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I had just gone for a conference which was located in this hotel. Loved the rooms, so clean, huge soft, warm beds! also everything was very well cleaned - and we were provided with more towels then we possibly needed! the staff was super friendly, and went out of their way to go above and beyond to get us American candy that we had never experience before! Thank you to C.C Smith and to the staff at the hotel for their help. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful too. We had an issue with the shuttle bus being late but that was made well after with the professional service! The bar was beautiful and gave us a nice view of Dayton. If you need to be or are in Dayton Ohio - this is the best hotel in the city to be in!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shekky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear shekky,
What a delightful review, we greatly appreciate the time you took to stop by TripAdvisor. I will be sure to tell CC and the staff that they helped to make your stay a great experience. I am glad you had a chance to visit our rooftop restaurant with it's panoramic views. I always tell our guests that you can see places you've never seen before without ever leaving the hotel! We look forward to having you as our guest the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    121
    82
    45
    22
See reviews for
65
50
20
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

The staff is friendly. The hotel is old and dingy. Which would be fine BUT my room was dirty, food in the buffet was limited and not good, piano is out of tune in the bar, and there was a bug on my mattress.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seg800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Seg800
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are very much delighted you enjoyed our staff. We apologize for your disappointment with your accommodations. It is very unusual that a guest would find there room unacceptably clean. I will investigate the matter. I hope that you will give us another opportunity should you visit our area again.

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for a conference in early September. The hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful. The valet staff were super accommodating and a riot! Our room was nice and clean. Average in decor, size, etc. but that's nothing to complain about. The bed was comfy, the bathroom large with room to spread out, and the amenities as expected (lotion, shampoo, conditioner, etc.). My husband and I enjoyed the fact that we were within walking distance of the Oregon District and some great restaurants. We were also not far away from the Air Force Museum at Wright Patterson Air Force Base and Yellow Springs (a really neat, artsy little town recommended by the locals). We also were tipped off to the location of the Wright Brothers' burial plot in the local cemetery. Cool!

Cannot complain about this property. Sure, it shows its age, but it's not horrible. The bar on the top floor is nice for an evening cocktail with a view over the city. Oh, and kudos to the management for the magnifying vanity mirror in our room! I have often said in my reviews that this would be a nice addition to any hotel room at minimal cost. The mirror is much-appreciated!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chompypf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Chompypf,
Thank you for your 4 star review and the time you took to point out a few of the highlights of staying at the Crowne Plaza Dayton. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the amenities, location and our wonderful staff. There are so many things to do and places to visit within 15 minutes of the hotel. When you return, be sure to ask about some other areas to visit. I'm sure you would love Carillon Historical Park which is only 5 minutes from the hotel. We look forward to having you as our guest again!

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

When I discovered that a conference I was scheduled to attend was at this hotel, I was more than a little concerned. Reviews on trip advisor have been mixed to say the least.
I was pleased and surprised to find a competent pleasant environment staffed by courteous employees eager to help.
No, it's not "The Pierre" in Paris- it's certainly not even the Ritz in New York.
Yes, it shows it's age- people do realize it's Dayton, Ohio - right?
We are talking about the buckle of the rust belt.
For the price of a Holiday Inn you get a convenient location (across from the convention center and within walking distance of the Oregon District) and a staff that does pretty well given the limitations.
JR

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear JohnR
Thank you for your 4 star review and the mention of our staff. We have a great group of people here. I hope we have the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future.

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I would like to thank the staff at the Crowne Plaza in Dayton for a job well-done for a conference that I recently coordinated on their property. The entire staff was helpful, friendly and very professional. Any issues that arose during the planning phase or throughout the conference were immediately addressed. Their staff went above and beyond to ensure our guests had an enjoyable time and memorable experience. We received numerous compliments on the quality of food and the helpfulness of the staff. Everyone from the IT staff, conceriege desk, front desk, housekeeping and event staff went out of their way to be accomadating. Thank you Ashley and Jodi!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Brooke E,
I really appreciate your review and the glowing reports of our staff. Thank you for your kind words. Our staff has worked very hard to ensure that each guest has a memorable experience. I am so pleased to hear that the entire team provided you with a unique and welcoming experience. We enjoyed hosting your group and look forward to working with you on future events given the opportunity. I will be sure to pass along your comments to all of our staff.

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Checked in very easily. A very nice concierge chap dealt with all our luggage and also valet parked the car. The room is a good size and seems pretty clean. I have a good view out into Dayton and also overlook the swimming pool. I'm here on business so having fast internet is a bonus.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AndyG1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear AndyG1985,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Crowne Plaza Dayton, we appreciate the kind words. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our free WiFi. I will let our Valet Department know that you were pleased with their service and mentioned them in your review. We hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Best Regards,

Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was the worst hotel I ever stayed in! Toilets didn't flush, air conditioners froze up overnight, my room was moved twice, the tub was dirty and room was not properly cleaned. Any time you see hair from someone else that tells me the rooms have not been cleaned properly. Closet doors inside the rooms were broken. I came in on a business rate, but I wouldn't even pay the discounted rate. Do NOT stay here if you visit Dayton. I was highly upset and disappointed. The best thing they have going for them are the conference and meeting rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kris D, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us regarding your recent stay. It is feedback like this, both positive and negative, that enables us to grow and work towards our goal of being the hotel of choice when traveling into the Dayton area. I have reviewed your feedback on the room with both my housekeeping and maintenance teams to prevent this from happening in the future. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope that in your future travels to Dayton we can have the opportunity to show you what are hotel can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dayton hotels
1.4 mi away
Marriott at the University of Dayton
5.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
9.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Dayton
Comfort Suites Dayton
#16 of 45 in Dayton
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dayton

Property: Crowne Plaza Dayton
Address: 33 E 5th St, Dayton, OH 45402-2485
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dayton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the vibrant energy of downtown Dayton when you stay at the luxurious Crowne Plaza. Located adjacent to the Dayton Convention Center and just minutes from the Dayton International Airport and Wright-Patterson AFB, our newly remodeled, full-service hotel offers the perfect combination of chic styling, total comfort and convenience right here in the "Birthplace of Aviation." Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy our stylish guestrooms, spacious suites and fabulous service from our welcoming staff. Stay with us and discover your perfect home away from home right here in downtown Dayton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Dayton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing