We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a perfect 10!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dayton
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Upon arriving the "Valet" was right there to take our luggage and park the car...check in was a breeze. The lobby was lovely! There is an attached "park like setting" that is charming to walk through. The room was clean but lacking in areas you would not expect a "Crowne" to be lacking in. There was not any "in-room" coffee! for us early risers! I found there was only one wash clothe and 2 towels set in the room that was for both my husband and I. When I brought this to their attention they did, on their defense, immediately bring additional toweling up to the room. When we left for our event the valet had our car there for us in a short time manner. Upon return in late afternoon we took advantage of a lull in our activities and went up to the "lounge/restaurant" on their top floor. The view was wonderful. The service right on target. The food, ( thought we only had a light bite) was very good, tasty and hot. Our server was sharp and charming.

Upon leaving for the evening and returning from our events it was still fairly early...only 10 p.m. There was not a valet anywhere in site~(A Saturday night!! I had to go in and ask what to do...and ended up leaving my key at the front desk. The next a.m. We called for a bell-person to assist with all our things. Though he came quickly..he only dropped off the cart. This surprised me for the "Crowne". Called for our car to be brought around and upon loading our own luggage and getting down to the lobby saw our car. It looked like it was in the exact same spot we had left it the night before. The Vale (??)t came up to us after about 5 minutes (they were not busy) and thanked us for coming. As we stand there unable to load our luggage as he still had our key fob. He walks away!! We had to ask for our key..and then proceed to load our own luggage. When you pay for assistance......???? Bed was comfortable...check out easy...Would I return....probably not.
I also have noticed that the management's responses to other comments have literally been a rubber stamp letter. I find this not acceptable...just a little FYI management. I have stayed at Holiday Inn Expresses with better customer care! Their Crowne is not shining anymore.....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bfzebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear bfzebra,
It sounds like there were many positive points about your stay with both the hotel and our rooftop restaurant. Unfortunately there were some areas of service where we did not measure up and fell short. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay and the poor service you received from our valet and bellman. I also wanted to assure you that each review is read and responded to individually. All reviews, both positive and negative are taken to heart as we seek to constantly provide our guest with a stay they can rate a 10. Thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 409 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was in town for a cousin's wedding and our extended family of 50+ cousins all stayed at the Crown Plaza. All in all,we had an excellent stay. The hotel is architecturally not pleasing from exterior but has a pleasantly remodeled interior. Parking via the convention center was nice but was also cumbersome as we forgot to validate our ticket once. Lastly, while shopping for prices I noticed that if you book through booking.com, you get a complementary breakfast in the hotel's restaurant which was excellent. The restaurant is located on the top floor and you have a choice between buffet and a menu (hint: order from the menu). There aren't many choices in Dayton, so I would highly recommend the Crown Plaza.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SMDoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear SMDoc1
We always enjoy being the host hotel for family reunions! Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you and your family had an excellant stay. There are many packages available that do include breakfast, Our rooftop restaurant with it's fantastic views, makes a great place to gather as a family before you start your day. We look forward to your return visit!

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was visiting Dayton for a friend's wedding. Dayton does not offer a lot but the Crowne Plaza was a bright spot. Check-in was easy, the staff was friendly and helpful, the room was nice and comfortable. Plus I had complimentary breakfast that was wonderful. True parking is in the garage across the road and you use the skywalk to cross over but I never felt unsafe doing so.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elevatedlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear elevatedlady,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found us as a bright spot in the area. We appreciate it when a guest takes the time to give us a review. Should you visit the area again, there are many things to do and places to go that you would truly enjoy. We have the theatre, the ballet, a historic district with dining and music, and even a minor league baseball team all within walking distance from the hotel! We hope to have you as our guest sometime again.

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have been coming to the CP Dayton for about 15 years for an annual amateur radio meeting. My last previous visit was 2 years ago. Since then, new ownership has taken over, and there has been a useful improvement, particularly evident in the staff.

A few shortcomings remain. The hallway carpets are badly worn, and temperature and humidity in the halls was uncomfortably high. The first day, the club floor breakfast was depleted by the time I got there at 7 AM, though the woman taking care of it did get more food delivered - apparently they weren't anticipating so many people - why not?

On the second day, most of the Hamvention guests (including me) received a form under our doors inviting us to pre-register for the following year. The form showed incredible ignorance of even what the Hamvention was, who sponsored it, etc. It asked for full credit card particulars to guarantee a reservation, though when I objected to the front desk staff they told me that they could get mine from my current account. I had a distinct impression of amateurish enthusiasm, but this caused a good deal of confusion among those of us who were in block reservations made by other people. I am still trying to get this straightened out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteandLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear PeteandLynn,
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. You are correct, the guests who were part of a block were not supposed to have the form slipped under their door. But an overzealous employee thought they were doing the right thing in placing it under the door of all attendees. We are sorry for any confusion this caused. We appreciate you noticing that we just keep getting better and better and look forward to your 'even better' review next year!

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed at this property in May 2013 with students for a high school competition. Very helpful staff, good food service, housekeeping was great. Attached to the Convention Center by a skywalk so you do not have to go outdoors if you do not want to. Would come back again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norsemenboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear norsemenboater,
Thank you for your review, we enjoyed hosting your students. Our staff has really been working hard to make the Crowne Plaza Dayton the favorite place to stay. They will appreciate your compliments, thank you again.

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times over the last 20 years for an annual meeting. It gets worse very year. Summary of problems this trip:
1. Hallways are incredibly warm and uncomfortable.
2. Sink drained very slowly
3. Shower/tub drained very slowly (about 1/3 full by end of shower)
4. Problems with door key
a. Stayed for 3 nights. Key didn't work on second day. Had to replace it.
b. When I asked for a new key, the front desk person simply asked me for my room number. He never asked for ID. I could have asked for a key to any room!
5. I know it hasn't shrunk, but I don't recall the bathroom being so small. The door has about 2 inch clearance from the toilet.

On a positive note, the food at a banquet at the hotel was good. I was expecting rubber chicken, but was pleasantly surprised. Also, the bed was very comfortable.

I will NOT be staying there next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveller2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Traveler2150,
Unfortunately you arrived at the hotel during a time when our entire check in and reservation system was down. This happened as we had hundreds of guests checking in. Our staff was unable to rely on a computer during the entire process, and although they handled everything professionally and with smiles on their faces, this did have a negative impact on your stay and for that I apologize.

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed overnight on a business trip. The room was well appointed, but nothing special. The room was just clean, not over the top clean. (stains on the bathroom walls, corners and edges of the carpet needed vacuumed, I didn't trust the look of the water glasses) In addition, the bathroom ceiling was pealing as a result of no ventilation system to get rid of moisture. The tub had mildew in the caulk of the tiles and missing caulk on the faucet, which caused water to pour into the gaping space.
The walls are fairly thin and I could hear activity in the room next to me. They weren't overly loud, but I could hear them moving about in their room and their t.v.
The bed was fine, not extremely comfortable, but I attribute that to not being used to the bed.
The staff was friendly and the hotel was easy to locate. I appreciated the free parking. I didn't utilize the workout room, although that is available.
I was a little disappointed there was no onsite breakfast options, just room service, like $8 for oatmeal.
If you need a safe, fairly clean place to stay in the Dayton area, it is a convenient location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelrodjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for filling out a review. They are helpful to point out certain rooms or areas we need to improve on. I would like to apologize for the disappointment you experienced with your room.
Concerning our on site breakfast options, we have a beautiful rooftop restaurant with walls of windows where you can enjoy the sun rising or setting. There is a breakfast buffet as well as a full menu to select from. The restaurant serves until midnight and they also feature live music 3 nights a week. Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to impress you should you return to the Dayton area on your next business trip.

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dayton hotels
1.4 mi away
Marriott at the University of Dayton
5.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
9.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
6.4 mi away
Courtyard Dayton North
Courtyard Dayton North
#17 of 45 in Dayton
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dayton

Address: 33 E 5th St, Dayton, OH 45402-2485
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dayton
Price Range: $138 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dayton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the vibrant energy of downtown Dayton when you stay at the luxurious Crowne Plaza. Located adjacent to the Dayton Convention Center and just minutes from the Dayton International Airport and Wright-Patterson AFB, our newly remodeled, full-service hotel offers the perfect combination of chic styling, total comfort and convenience right here in the "Birthplace of Aviation." Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy our stylish guestrooms, spacious suites and fabulous service from our welcoming staff. Stay with us and discover your perfect home away from home right here in downtown Dayton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Dayton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing