We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Dayton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dayton
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Dayton
Warren, MI
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

In January, 2013, I was the featured poet at Delish Lounge which is but a stones throw from the Crown Plaza. The rooms were comfortable, location is great if you're traveling to downtown Dayton (the Convention Center is right across the street) and breakfast which was included with our room was very good. The only snaffu on this trip was that we were stuck in the elevator for about 5 minutes. I'd highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Great location in downtown Dayton
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Dayton. Our goal is to inspire and take care of each and every one of our guests.I believe you are the first Poet to leave us a review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with our elevator. We hope to see you again the next time you travel to the Dayton area.

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    96
    62
    35
    18
See reviews for
53
40
16
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a Sexy Christians marriage retreat thru our church. The rooms were very nicely designed, and very comfortable to relax in. The staff was very friendly as well. We didn't hear anyone from our group of people staying say one negative thing about their hotel experience. I'd highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdersh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear tdersh22,

We are so glad that you and your group enjoyed your stay and the retreat. We always appreciate it when someone takes the time to give us a review. I will be sure to mention to the employees here at the Crowne Plaza Dayton that you complimented them on their friendly service. We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This Crowne Plaza reminded me of the hotel I first stayed at when landing in Qaddafi's Libya in 2006 - boxy architecture with sterile decor but some of the friendliest service you could imagine.

Pluses:
- Great view from the restaurant at the top of the hotel, professional service and a solid (if slightly casual) menu
- Friendly, efficient and helpful front desk staff
- Probably the best option in Dayton
- Fast internet

Development opportunities:
- The elevators feel coffin-like - not because they are small, but because they are lined with a strange fabric that makes them feel suffocatingly closed
- Rooms need room service menus in them - all I could find was a list of local restaurants even though I know room service was available
- Hotel should supply at least one bottle of water in the room - I know this is environmentally unfriendly but they could also add a recycling bin in the room to compensate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alphabetsoup2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give a thorough 4 star review of your stay. We always appreciate it when a guest makes the time and effort to share their experience. I hope we are able to serve you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. From the front desk staff to the airport shuttle driver - my experience was excellent. The room was nice and the view from the Rooftop restaurant was fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Richard Dalton gets high marks for his outstanding service to two very tired travelers. We received an excellent welcome, and service throughout the stay. Because of the late night check-in, we were appreciative of the valet parking, and car was right ready in the morning when we needed an early start. It was fun also to see the staff get ready for the basketball players and fans in town for NCAA games. They had great spirit in welcoming guests. Thank you, Crowne Plaza, Dayton for a very good experience.

Room Tip: Check lights before you unpack...did have some lights which did not work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Mar 22-24.The Overall experience was good & the Staff in the Bar & Restaurant were very Friendly. When I made my Reservation we asked for an upgrade if available,and the desk clerk said she would upgrade to a club level. I didn't see any difference in the king bed room that I usually get & the club level.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prpdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A group of us stayed at the Crown Plaza for work. The overall hotel was nice, but the restaurant crew was amazing! The top floor restaurant provides a beautiful view and the staff was super friendly and helpful after long days at work. Thanks so much for making my trip special!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYChick72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dayton
1.4 mi away
Marriott at the University of Dayton
6.0 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dayton-Vandalia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dayton

Property: Crowne Plaza Dayton
Address: 33 E 5th St, Dayton, OH 45402-2485
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dayton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the vibrant energy of downtown Dayton when you stay at the luxurious Crowne Plaza. Located adjacent to the Dayton Convention Center and just minutes from the Dayton International Airport and Wright-Patterson AFB, our newly remodeled, full-service hotel offers the perfect combination of chic styling, total comfort and convenience right here in the "Birthplace of Aviation." Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy our stylish guestrooms, spacious suites and fabulous service from our welcoming staff. Stay with us and discover your perfect home away from home right here in downtown Dayton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Dayton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing