We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Dayton
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Dayton
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant Staff”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A group of us stayed at the Crown Plaza for work. The overall hotel was nice, but the restaurant crew was amazing! The top floor restaurant provides a beautiful view and the staff was super friendly and helpful after long days at work. Thanks so much for making my trip special!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYChick72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    119
    82
    45
    22
See reviews for
65
49
20
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunnellon, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were in Dayton to visit with my nephew that was hospitalized at MVH. We were greeted with a valet person, who promptly helped us into the facility and handled our baggage to the front desk. We were greeted by Jay, he was very friendly and offered us several options for rooms. We did a walk in rate that was amazing for this hotel and were offered to print the coupon on their printer in their computer area in the lobby (THANKS!). We stayed here for two nights, the accomodations were appropriate for this type of hotel and room service was awesome. The only downfall to this stay was the walk to and from the parking garage due to the cold and the environment is a little intimidating. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Dayton for family members needing to visit members of their family at MVH or for any convention center activities. Special thanks to Jay at the front desk for being very professional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim34432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for mentioning our staff member Jay. I will be sure to pass on your remarks and let him know what a great job he did for you. If you should visit our hotel again in the future, there is an indoor walkway to the garage that will keep you out of the winter elements! Our goal is to inspire and take care of each and every one of our guests. And even though your visit wasn't for leisure, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and that we could make a difference.

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here this last weekend because my daughter was competing in a dance competition at the attached convention center. We pulled up and the bell hop/valet came right now to help us with our bags. We didn't use the valet service but he helped us unload all of our things and helped us to our room, chatting politely about her dance competition etc. It really set the tone for a great stay. The room was very clean and loved that it had a fridge. We will definitely be back to this hotel if we travel to Dayton again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KStuart23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are very excited about the outcome of our renovation, and I am so pleased to hear that you were as well. Our staff has worked hard to make us a hotel to be proud of. We truly appreciate our guests' feedback and I am eager to pass your words along to our valet and cleaning teams. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was a little worried about stayinghere as a lot of people have complained that this Crowne Plaza doesn't meet their expectations, but I didn't find anything egregious about my stay. The room was a little old and tired, but the hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, and the food was decent. Also, yes you do have to park in a parking garage, but it isn't "way down the street" like someone else posted, it's right across the street and there is a skywalk from it to the hotel.

I will have to say that while this hotel is not far from the Oregon district, it's not a very appealing walk.

Also, I booked through Priceline and not through the hotel directly, it was more than 50 percent off (not surprising as when I checked out I noticed the front desk staff filling out a form listing the hotel as only 30 percent full). This hotel is not worth the full retail amount, but it was great for the 65ish bucks I paid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the hotel, feedback from our guests allows us to pinpoint areas that we can grow. Our staff prides themselves on excellent customer service and our hotel is located near many exciting venues. I was surprised to read that you felt the rooms were old and tired as we just had a five million dollar renovation. While our building has been a part of Dayton for quite some time we are very proud of the modern feel and the new accommodations that our renovation has provided. We are striving to provide each guests with a wonderful stay, we look forward to serving you should you visit the area again, if we can do anything to make your next stay more pleasant please let us know.

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Due to my job, I stay in hotels all the time. The staff at the crowne plaza in Dayton have made this my favorite stay! The manager, Andy, came in on his own time to provide shuttle service for us. He also helped with a medical issue. The front desk staff was so welcoming and helpful they made all the difference. I would recommend this particular hotel to any of my family & friends because of the exceptional customer service from Andy & all of the other staff we had the opportunity to deal with.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shann35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Crowne Plaza Dayton, we appreciate the great review. I was pleased when reading your comments about the staff, they have worked very hard, and I am so happy to hear that our customer service was your most memorable part. I will be sure to let the front desk and Andy know that they exceeded your expectations, as it is what we strive for. We are looking forward to your future travels and welcoming you back to the hotel!

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

On our recent trip to Dayton, We had purchased our room on Priceline. Priceline totally screwed up our reservation and was not cooperating with us to fix the problem. The Night Manager Andy H. stepped in and reassured us that he would help us fix the error. He was professional, courteous.He went ABOVE and BEYOND of what a hotel Manager would of done. We travel very frequent and have never experienced such excellent customer satisfaction. Kudos to The Crowne Plaza in hiring such a dynamic employee. We will definitely revisit your hotel on our trips to Dayton! You have won us over!!!!!
J. and C. Thompson

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, Andy is great at what he does and he will appreciate your mention of him. He truly takes pride in his job and each and every guest is important to him and our staff. We pride ourselves on making each guest’s stay memorable and comfortable.
Our entire staff have worked very hard to become the hotel of choice for the Dayton traveler and they by far are our best asset. Thank you for sharing your experience, we look forward to your next trip to the Dayton area!

Sincerely,

Michael Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville,TN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here this past weekend with another couple. We only stayed one night as we were passing through. It is a nice clean hotel as expected from a Crown Plaza. It is in a great downtown location, beside the convention center and only a couple blocks to the Oregon District, which has lots of uniqe shops and restaurants. Although we could have easily walked, to Oregon District for dinner, Darnell, the complementary shuttle driver, was happy to drop us off and pick us up, as it was very cold outside and snowing. The room was large and nicley furnished. It looks like a recent rennovation was given to the entire hotel. It was exactly what I want in a hotel. The restaurant/bar on the top floor was very nice with great views and live piano music which was great. All of the servers in the hotel were great to deal with, and overall it was a great experience.

Room Tip: I would ask for a corner room, as high up as possible, which will improve your view tremendously, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacateKnoxville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Dayton, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear vacateKnoxville_TN, Thank you for your kind words and for mentioning some of our staff members. Our goal is to inspire and take care of each and every one of our guests. We are working hard to be Daytons Best Hotel. I'm glad you were able to enjoy View 162, our rooftop restaurant. We hope to see you again soon should you be back in the area, happy travels!

Sincerely,
Mike Larson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dayton hotels
1.4 mi away
Marriott at the University of Dayton
5.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Dayton North
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Dayton-University of Dayton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Dayton/Dayton Mall
9.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dayton South
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Dayton
Comfort Suites Dayton
#15 of 45 in Dayton
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Dayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Dayton

Property: Crowne Plaza Dayton
Address: 33 E 5th St, Dayton, OH 45402-2485
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Dayton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the vibrant energy of downtown Dayton when you stay at the luxurious Crowne Plaza. Located adjacent to the Dayton Convention Center and just minutes from the Dayton International Airport and Wright-Patterson AFB, our newly remodeled, full-service hotel offers the perfect combination of chic styling, total comfort and convenience right here in the "Birthplace of Aviation." Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy our stylish guestrooms, spacious suites and fabulous service from our welcoming staff. Stay with us and discover your perfect home away from home right here in downtown Dayton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Dayton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Dayton Hotel Dayton
Dayton Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Dayton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing